Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Just made my first batch! I did change a few things after reading through a few others posts. I ommited the cornmeal and instead just added a little more oats. I also used a chicken boulion and about a 1/2 cup of peanut butter. I just gave my dog one and he loved it!! Made these has Christmas gifts for family pets! We will see if everyone else loves them! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
2 of my 3 dogs are picky eaters and all 3 of my dogs BEG for more! I substitue OUT the Milk, Hot water, Bouillon cubes, and Wh. Wheat flour for: 1 cup boiling chicken/beef stock, 1/3 cup Peanut butter, and use Rye flour instead. If you don't want to add the corn-substitute it out for Equal amounts more of the : Rye, and Oats:) Freeze for a Christmas day treat for your furry Family members! IF you REALLY want to spoil them, you could also add 1/3 cup Baccon Bits (Homeade of course, crumbled fried 3 strips)! I personally Baked for 20 mins and then turn off oven for 20mins leaving them in to Harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Super bummed. Of course, if I'd followed the recipe exactly, I wouldn't be in this exact situation. I decided to give these a try while making chicken pot pie, so after my veggies and chicken were cooking (in bouillon) I scooped out a cup of boiling water and added that to the oats and margarine mix. I was planning to finish the treats once my pie was in the oven...... HOWEVER, I decided to google a couple ingredients first. Onion is super toxic to dogs and it seems like most bouillon has onion powder in it. Also, it wasn't low sodium, which is another big issue. So, I ruined my recipe before I even started. I know, if I'd used water at the beginning, I might have caught this in time. BUT, it would have been nice to see a warning. Also, if I hadn't searched, I would have used the same bouillon crumbles in the recipe anyway. I'm disappointed, because I LOVE allrecipes and this was the most popular and most highly rated recipe. But, I'd rather stick to unhealthy but SAFE storebought treats over something toxic for my pup. Perhaps some of the PB adaptations would be a better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I originally found this recipe because I'd become a vegetarian, but had a ton of meat based bouillon to use up. I have cats, not dogs, so when I've made these treats they've been gifts for friends. I've never watched a pet eat them, but I always hear rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I did not add any bullion as I don't want to give my dog that much salt. Also, substituted the wheat flour and cornmeal for brown rice flour. Much better for a dogs digestive system and for dogs who have food allergies. Substituted the cheddar with natural peanut butter. Healthy and a nice sweet treat. Many dogs like sweets and this is a way to give them sweet without sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My babies love these. I substituted one batch with chicken instead of beef for a slight difference. They loved both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Great recipe my dogs love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These were really easy to make and the dogs seemed to like them, but I'm now slightly concerned after reading NICKELLAR's comments that cornmeal is not good for dogs!? Will need to look into it more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My Dogs really love these treats and they will not eat milky bones. They hang near the oven while they cook. I did not have cheddar cheese so I used parmesan/romano - and I had to use extra flour b/c dough was so sticky. Then rolled out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My dog loves these. Even the neighborhood dogs love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by style_child01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States