Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
After reading a ton of reviews this is what I ended up doing- 1 cup rolled oats, 1 cup boiling water, 1/3 cup olive oil (and then let sit for 10 mins). Then I added in the egg, 1 cup natural peanut butter, 1/2 cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup apple sauce, 2 tsp honey, and then the 3 cups of whole wheat flour. I used a bone shaped cookie cutter that is like 4 inches long and it made 90 treats (my treats were on the thin side)! Thanks for all the suggestions everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
My dog loves these cookies! I omitted the boullion and sugar and the recipe still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My little dog has kidney problems and the vet said she should have NO protein. She is such a picky eater but LOVES her snacks which, unfortunately, have so much protein. Milk Bone box said 20%. This only has the egg. The vet pointed me to some low protein canned food, one 3%, one 5%, which to my surprise she snarfed down. She had to look at these and think about it but has asked for several this evening. I made 1/2 batch in case she wouldn't eat them.] The dough is very easy to work with. I just cut the rolled out dough into little squares.. very quick and easy. I'll be using this recipe weekly. Thanks to the person putting this on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
My dog is addicted to these. I used a cup of peanut butter instead of the cheddar cheese. I can't even go near the container without him begging for them. I don't bother making them look all fancy either. I roll it out and cut it in serving size portions with a pizza cutter. My dog doesn't care what they look like...they just taste soooo yummy to him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
One dog loves - one doesn't!! not sure how to rate. Read reviews after, and would take out corn meal for Biquick, milk out for peanut butter and chicken broth as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These came out terrific and our dog loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
We have 4 dogs and made these to celebrate 2 of their birthdays. My 8 and 10 year old were in charge and I was in a more managerial role; this is a terrific recipe to do with kids as it is very forgiving! Based on some of the reviews and our dogs preferences, we made quite a few changes: omitted the boullion, cheese, cornmeal, margarine and sugar. We also substituted brown rice flour for the wheat. In place of the eliminated ingredients, we used 1/2 unsweetened organic applesauce (our one dog LOVES apples), olive oil as the fat, 1 c fresh ground honey roasted peanuts ground to peanut butter consistency, 1/2 c oat bran, 1/4 c ground flax seed a d increased the oats a bit. The biscuits were a huge hit not only with our dogs, but extras were shared with the neighbors and friends who have dogs and they were devoured! This recipe is clearly one you can play with and easily adjust to your dogs taste. This was a fun family baking activity; I would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I substituted sugar for applesauce (more healthy) and used 1 cup of peanut butter instead of cheese & bouillon. It made 169 small/med size biscuits - fab! My puppy loved it immediately! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great basic recipe. I don't think you can mess this up. I read the reviews and made some recommended substitutions... Left out cornmeal, milk and cheese, added olive oil, peanut butter, apple sauce and extra oats. I just added flour until I got the right consistency. Both of my dogs loved these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Good recipe, omitted corn meal, cut into bone shapes! My daughter enjoyed making this for our pug's birthday! Kept in an airtight container but they still grew mold after 3 days. Our dog would do ANYTHING to get one of these treats, so let's just say they were a hit. However, she is a pug!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States