Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Our working dogs usually only eat high quality dog food, I got severely told off by the vet for giving them this high fat "human food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I have made these several times according to the receipe for our dog and our son's dog. The LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
VERY easy to make and the dogs seem to like it. I make it in BIG batches to give out to my clients for Christmas (I am a dog groomer) and the dogs seem to really enjoy it. It makes nice crisp biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawiccewoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made these "cookies" for our Chu-weenie, this morning. omigoodness, our pup is such a happy camper. after reading reviews, I made these changes. lost the corn, which is just a filler, dogs cannot digest corn. and replaced volume w the whole wheat flour (extra 1/4 c) and oats, 2 c instead of one. I also replaced margarine w bacon grease. then finally chopped bacon, and added to oat mixture. everything else was as written. My dog is all over these cookies. whenever I head into the kitchen shes right with me. thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My dogs loved this but, I elected to substitute flax meal for corn meal and I used Knorr Chicken Bouillon because it was the only one I could find without onion. All of the beef ones I found had onion in them. I also used a soy based cheddar and brown rice flour and omitted the sugar. My border collie has an uber-sensitive stomach and these (with my changes) went down just fine. I brushed on a glaze made of egg yolk with cinnamon before baking for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I'm getting ready to make my 3rd batch for my Chihuahua's, they, along with other dog's I have given them to LOVE them! I make them as the recipe is written. I have read some reviews about substituting peanut butter, etc. My thought is if I wanted a recipe with peanut butter I would search for that :) Also read some concerns about onion in the bouillon, the one I have has onion powder listed as the 8th ingredient, and as we all know it's the first few ingredients that contain the most, so I'm not concerned about it. A time saving tip I learned on the last batch was to ditch the little cookie cutter and just cut them into squares, my dog's don't seem to care what they look like :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Our boxer Jocko will not eat other dog treats anymore! I use the peanut butter as suggested by another review. One thing, rolling them out to 1/2 inch is too thick, it should be more like 1/4 inch or you will end up with a treat that is to moist to store for long. For the critical review that mentioned the short shelf life, if the treat isn't dry enough, it will get bad fast, but if you roll it thinner and bake them till they're dry, they store fine. Can't give a length of time, because Jocko goes through them too fast to find out! LOL But when I make a double batch, they last 2-3 weeks just fine. I do mine at 1/4 inch thick, and bake for the max 45 minutes. I've used other types of cheese, whatever I have that's getting old in my fridge, and he loves them all. My daughter fosters animals for a local humane society, and now she makes these also for her always changing menagerie. Even some of the cats like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMOM1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used the recommendation to omit the cheese and bullion and add one cup of peanut butter instead. I recommend mixing in an electric mixer since it's a thick dough. I used pie crust decorator cut-outs (stars, chickens, mini ginger bread man...) I rated this recipe 4 stars because they're not super healthy for a dog's natural diet. They came out as a great consistency and held together beautifully. I gifted them to friends with dogs for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I am trying this recipe for the first time today and expect to be satisfied with it. I have a warning, however: most commercial boullion contains onion. Onion is a cumulative poison for dogs. I would reccomend a different flavor enhancer because not all boullion list the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Mmmm yum, they tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States