Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great recipe! Since my pup has some food allergies, I did make a few adjustments, substituting coconut oil for the margarine (great for skin and coat), no sugar or cornmeal (not good for animals), 1/2 c. extra oats, and brown rice flour instead of wheat (makes for a crisper biscuit also). I have also subbed a small jar of baby food chicken, beef etc. instead of the bouillon and/or 1/2 cup pumpkin or sweet potato with 2 tsp. of powdered milk instead of the 1/2 cup of milk. I have found this to be the best base recipe for dog treats that is easily adaptable to your dog's preferences! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My dog loves them! Peanut butter idea was great too! Thanks,DOUGHMAMA & WODAKING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I used oil instead of margarine and chicken bouillon instead of beef, but left everything else alone. This does make a lot, but I have two large dogs so they will go through these in no time. They literally followed me around the kitchen for more after I gave them one. I feel better about giving them treats from home, I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
After reading a ton of reviews this is what I ended up doing- 1 cup rolled oats, 1 cup boiling water, 1/3 cup olive oil (and then let sit for 10 mins). Then I added in the egg, 1 cup natural peanut butter, 1/2 cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup apple sauce, 2 tsp honey, and then the 3 cups of whole wheat flour. I used a bone shaped cookie cutter that is like 4 inches long and it made 90 treats (my treats were on the thin side)! Thanks for all the suggestions everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
My dog loves these cookies! I omitted the boullion and sugar and the recipe still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My little dog has kidney problems and the vet said she should have NO protein. She is such a picky eater but LOVES her snacks which, unfortunately, have so much protein. Milk Bone box said 20%. This only has the egg. The vet pointed me to some low protein canned food, one 3%, one 5%, which to my surprise she snarfed down. She had to look at these and think about it but has asked for several this evening. I made 1/2 batch in case she wouldn't eat them.] The dough is very easy to work with. I just cut the rolled out dough into little squares.. very quick and easy. I'll be using this recipe weekly. Thanks to the person putting this on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
My dog is addicted to these. I used a cup of peanut butter instead of the cheddar cheese. I can't even go near the container without him begging for them. I don't bother making them look all fancy either. I roll it out and cut it in serving size portions with a pizza cutter. My dog doesn't care what they look like...they just taste soooo yummy to him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
One dog loves - one doesn't!! not sure how to rate. Read reviews after, and would take out corn meal for Biquick, milk out for peanut butter and chicken broth as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These came out terrific and our dog loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
We have 4 dogs and made these to celebrate 2 of their birthdays. My 8 and 10 year old were in charge and I was in a more managerial role; this is a terrific recipe to do with kids as it is very forgiving! Based on some of the reviews and our dogs preferences, we made quite a few changes: omitted the boullion, cheese, cornmeal, margarine and sugar. We also substituted brown rice flour for the wheat. In place of the eliminated ingredients, we used 1/2 unsweetened organic applesauce (our one dog LOVES apples), olive oil as the fat, 1 c fresh ground honey roasted peanuts ground to peanut butter consistency, 1/2 c oat bran, 1/4 c ground flax seed a d increased the oats a bit. The biscuits were a huge hit not only with our dogs, but extras were shared with the neighbors and friends who have dogs and they were devoured! This recipe is clearly one you can play with and easily adjust to your dogs taste. This was a fun family baking activity; I would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States