Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These came out terrific and our dog loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
We have 4 dogs and made these to celebrate 2 of their birthdays. My 8 and 10 year old were in charge and I was in a more managerial role; this is a terrific recipe to do with kids as it is very forgiving! Based on some of the reviews and our dogs preferences, we made quite a few changes: omitted the boullion, cheese, cornmeal, margarine and sugar. We also substituted brown rice flour for the wheat. In place of the eliminated ingredients, we used 1/2 unsweetened organic applesauce (our one dog LOVES apples), olive oil as the fat, 1 c fresh ground honey roasted peanuts ground to peanut butter consistency, 1/2 c oat bran, 1/4 c ground flax seed a d increased the oats a bit. The biscuits were a huge hit not only with our dogs, but extras were shared with the neighbors and friends who have dogs and they were devoured! This recipe is clearly one you can play with and easily adjust to your dogs taste. This was a fun family baking activity; I would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I substituted sugar for applesauce (more healthy) and used 1 cup of peanut butter instead of cheese & bouillon. It made 169 small/med size biscuits - fab! My puppy loved it immediately! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great basic recipe. I don't think you can mess this up. I read the reviews and made some recommended substitutions... Left out cornmeal, milk and cheese, added olive oil, peanut butter, apple sauce and extra oats. I just added flour until I got the right consistency. Both of my dogs loved these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Good recipe, omitted corn meal, cut into bone shapes! My daughter enjoyed making this for our pug's birthday! Kept in an airtight container but they still grew mold after 3 days. Our dog would do ANYTHING to get one of these treats, so let's just say they were a hit. However, she is a pug!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
It's a good starter recipe, but needs work if your dog is allergic to corn, as many are. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Gingrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killen, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
My Blue Heeler will not eat store bought dog biscuits since I first made these for her, and her doggie friends are becoming as fussy as her they certainly don't get time to go stale in this house. She haunts the oven until they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made a double batch of these for an all day fundraiser, & they sold very well. Cut dough out into doggie, bone, kitty & heart shapes - very easy. Since dogs are supposed to avoid cornmeal, I substituted banana nut granola for the cornmeal (took out bigger nuts). Also, due to ingredients on hand, I sub'd Crisco for the margarine, & used steel cut oats. Used peanut butter instead of sugar. I also used chicken bouillon instead of beef, because it seemed more compatible with peanut butter & granola, but how does a human really know! What I like about this recipe is that it seems foolproof - you can make your own version for natural ingredients, homemade cut out doggie treats. Easy to roll out & cut shapes. I used parchment paper on cookie sheets & put in top racks of oven, & did not burn bottoms of cookies, that was what was worrying me the most ! Just have to make sure that you give owners a heads up that treats contain peanut butter / nut granola, if their doggie has an allergy. This recipe is a real winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Easy to make, dogs love them, and they are a great seller at bake sales!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Our working dogs usually only eat high quality dog food, I got severely told off by the vet for giving them this high fat "human food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States