Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by moose
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My dogs love these cookies!!! I did some changes that were suggested by others, like omitting cheese and bouillon cubes and adding peanut butter!! Thanks for the tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made a few changes to this recipe and every dog I have given them too, loves them. I have to say, this dough is very easy to work with. Instead of margarine, I used coconut oil. I substituted cornmeal(which isn't good for dogs)with cream of wheat cereal. I used local raw honey instead of sugar,and 3/4 c.organic peanut butter in place of beef bouillon(too much salt). I omitted cheese and replaced with 1/2 c. applesauce(unsweetened). Used 2 beaten eggs and finally replaced 1 cup of wheat flour with 1 cup of coconut flour. I added some parsley flakes and a little cinnamon. Another note, since the cookies don't expand when baking, I placed them almost touching to get more on the cookie sheet. I used a small bone shaped cookie cutter 2" long and it made over 160 cookies. Next time I will cut the recipe in half. Baked 40 minutes. I also store the cookies in an airtight container in the refrigerator. This recipe is a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great recipe! Since my pup has some food allergies, I did make a few adjustments, substituting coconut oil for the margarine (great for skin and coat), no sugar or cornmeal (not good for animals), 1/2 c. extra oats, and brown rice flour instead of wheat (makes for a crisper biscuit also). I have also subbed a small jar of baby food chicken, beef etc. instead of the bouillon and/or 1/2 cup pumpkin or sweet potato with 2 tsp. of powdered milk instead of the 1/2 cup of milk. I have found this to be the best base recipe for dog treats that is easily adaptable to your dog's preferences! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My dog loves them! Peanut butter idea was great too! Thanks,DOUGHMAMA & WODAKING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I used oil instead of margarine and chicken bouillon instead of beef, but left everything else alone. This does make a lot, but I have two large dogs so they will go through these in no time. They literally followed me around the kitchen for more after I gave them one. I feel better about giving them treats from home, I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
After reading a ton of reviews this is what I ended up doing- 1 cup rolled oats, 1 cup boiling water, 1/3 cup olive oil (and then let sit for 10 mins). Then I added in the egg, 1 cup natural peanut butter, 1/2 cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup apple sauce, 2 tsp honey, and then the 3 cups of whole wheat flour. I used a bone shaped cookie cutter that is like 4 inches long and it made 90 treats (my treats were on the thin side)! Thanks for all the suggestions everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
My dog loves these cookies! I omitted the boullion and sugar and the recipe still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My little dog has kidney problems and the vet said she should have NO protein. She is such a picky eater but LOVES her snacks which, unfortunately, have so much protein. Milk Bone box said 20%. This only has the egg. The vet pointed me to some low protein canned food, one 3%, one 5%, which to my surprise she snarfed down. She had to look at these and think about it but has asked for several this evening. I made 1/2 batch in case she wouldn't eat them.] The dough is very easy to work with. I just cut the rolled out dough into little squares.. very quick and easy. I'll be using this recipe weekly. Thanks to the person putting this on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
My dog is addicted to these. I used a cup of peanut butter instead of the cheddar cheese. I can't even go near the container without him begging for them. I don't bother making them look all fancy either. I roll it out and cut it in serving size portions with a pizza cutter. My dog doesn't care what they look like...they just taste soooo yummy to him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
One dog loves - one doesn't!! not sure how to rate. Read reviews after, and would take out corn meal for Biquick, milk out for peanut butter and chicken broth as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States