Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Omg, so easy. I didn't have corn meal so I crushed up shredded wheat cereal and it worked fine. My Lola LOVES this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made these treats for my dogs and they go crazy for them! I also made some for my friends' dogs and they ask me to make them more! If you have a smaller dog, use a pen cap to cut the treats out and bake them for about twenty minutes. And remember to keep the treats in the fridge to last longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Our dog eats 2 of these for his breakfast every day. I have occasionally used peanut butter instead of cheese and they are great (you may have to add a bit more flour in this case). I eat one occasionally as they taste that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
All my 3 dogs loved these cookies. Based on another review I made a few changes. I used olive oil instead of the butter and did not use the cornmeal. I used chicken bouillon because it was the only thing I had and I also added about 4 table spoon of crunchy peanut butter. I rolled the dough with a rolling pin and only used half of it. I ended up with about 30 cookies cut out with a bone and a dog shaped cookie cutters. I froze the rest to be used later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Our dog loved them. I made them with Mozzarella Cheese instead of Cheddar, 2 beef bouillen cubes instead of grandules and regular flour instead of whole wheat as these were the things I had on had on hand the time...and he still LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have made these many times now and give them as gifts to friends who also have dogs. I do not use cornmeal but will throw in leftover rice as we usually have it in the fridge. I also flip the biscuits over half way through the baking time and find this makes for a crisper biscuit. My husband LOVES them with red wine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My doggie LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Sugar, cornmeal, and bouillon are not very good for dogs. Good substitutes would be honey, more flour, and some peanut butter. I would also substitute margarine for olive oil. Another thing i wouldn't use is the cheese for it could give your dog extreme gas issues.Since it is fresh with no preservatives, i would freeze the biscuits for a longer shelf life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moose
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My dogs love these cookies!!! I did some changes that were suggested by others, like omitting cheese and bouillon cubes and adding peanut butter!! Thanks for the tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made a few changes to this recipe and every dog I have given them too, loves them. I have to say, this dough is very easy to work with. Instead of margarine, I used coconut oil. I substituted cornmeal(which isn't good for dogs)with cream of wheat cereal. I used local raw honey instead of sugar,and 3/4 c.organic peanut butter in place of beef bouillon(too much salt). I omitted cheese and replaced with 1/2 c. applesauce(unsweetened). Used 2 beaten eggs and finally replaced 1 cup of wheat flour with 1 cup of coconut flour. I added some parsley flakes and a little cinnamon. Another note, since the cookies don't expand when baking, I placed them almost touching to get more on the cookie sheet. I used a small bone shaped cookie cutter 2" long and it made over 160 cookies. Next time I will cut the recipe in half. Baked 40 minutes. I also store the cookies in an airtight container in the refrigerator. This recipe is a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States