Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
My dog gobbles these treats up! I tried another recipe for dog treats and my microwave exploded. Literally. There was glass everywhere. Of course I tried a new recipe, which is this, and was totally the opposite. My dad joked around and ate one of these, and he said it tasted like meat flavored dough. :P Thhese are a lifesaver and we don't waste any money on dog treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
My dogs won't eat store bought treats! I omit the corn meal and will add a packet of yeast, or today I added a packet of chicken gravy with the cheese. I've done both the cheese and peanut butter variations and have had great luck! It's so easy to work with and any dog that tries them likes them. Even my kids sneak them, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella V.
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Easy and the pups love it! This recipe is very easy to conform to your pup's wants (and what you have in the fridge). Changes I made: I used coconut oil rather than margarine I used pork bouillon rather than beef I used Masa rather than corn meal I used Quick oats rather than rolled oats I added 1 cup of shredded carrots I added 2 tsp. rendered bacon fat I also omitted the sugar. Next time I'll probably try an egg wash on top of the cookies, just for a better look. I'll also try this with different things like shredded apple, peanut butter, bananas, or whatever I have around that my pup can easily digest. I'll be honest, I tried a tiny bite myself, and they weren't bad! LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I changed the recipe. I put bacon shortening instead of margarine, added flax seed, parsley, and changed the sugar to molasses. The dogs loved them. They are crunchy. I also used mozzarella cheese. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Not enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These biscuits don't raise, they will stay the exact shape you cut them. There is no need to leave much space between them on the pan. Also, after the first pan I rolled them thinner, they are a better size to for the dog to chew. Dogs all gave them two paws up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
My finicky, picky eater Pom loves these! Pretty easy to make too, like baking cookies for your furry baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Chace
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed making these. They were moderately easy and didn't make a huge mess. I substituted chicken stock because some of my dogs are allergic to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
All 5 dogs I have made these for just love them.The last one was a friend's dog that I pet sat. She said I either had to give her the recipe or move in! And my mom even tried one! Have tried a few other recipes but this is definitely the best! I can make 'cookies' without gaining a pound!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My dogs loved it. I didn't have any margerine, so I used real butter, but they still came out great. I like them crispier, so I rolled them out to 1/4 inch and cooked them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States