Dog Food Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This dip was SOOOOO simple and SOOOO good!!! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
As written 4 stars, after using seasoned salt, garlic powder and pepper on meat, 5 stars. Very good as a sandwich filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
DEFINITELY make the night before, and start with less than the listed amount of jalapenos. I used 1/2 the jalapenos the first time I made this, and what tasted fairly lifeless the night before was almost too hot when it was time to serve and I had to add more cheese to make it safe for Wisconsin mouths. I have now made this several times and it is a favorite appetizer when I entertain. I use 1 lb. of beef to each lb. of cheese, and start with 1/4 of the jalapenos, sometimes stirring in more just before serving it. This recipe does NOT serve 48, though. More like 25-30, depending on your crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Ryerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Who can wait a whole day for the flavors to meld? We can't. I started this 2 hours ago, and we're already chowing down. I used a 7-oz. can of mild green chilis and 1 T. of chili powder in place of the jalapenos. Happened to have an uncooked boneless pork chop and a boneless chicken breast to use up, so I diced them and added to the ground beef, onion, and (of course) a T. of "jar" garlic. After browning, place all ingredients in the slow cooker. I also added part of a brick of cream cheese (again, cleaning out the fridge). Wow, the chunks of meat turned out to be a great addition to this dip. I generally don't mind store brands, but in this case, I highly recommend the Velveeta brand cheese, not a knock-off. My husband is barking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I have been making this dip for years and it's a hit every time! When I make this dip for my brothers, I use chorizo to give it extra heat. Be cautious...it can get pretty hot depending on the spice of the chorizo! I have also made this dip with ground turkey when that is all I had on hand and it went unnoticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very simple recipe to make. Made exactly as recipe written. I wouldn't skip the 8 hour period in the frig. It gives all the flavors time to come together. Had a warm bite to it, combined with very good flavor. Glad I tried this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I served this at my fall open house, and several people just stood by the dish and ate it - without chips! Now, a young girl who recently immigrated from Africa is wanting to make it for her brother who is coming to visit from England!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving, and everyone thought the name was hilarious. They were hesitant to try at first but once they did, they couldn't stay away. After reading the reviews I had higher expectaions, but overall was very pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
this dip is so simple and the flavor is soooo good! who cares if its ugly?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
When I tell my friends the 'real' name of this recipe, ALPO dip, they say NO WAY! It's just hamburger and cheese, but it is so good! Never had it turned down for it's name, they embrace it, after tasting it the first time, it's history. I've always had it devoured!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Seven-Layer Dip I

See how to make this crowd-pleasing seven-layer dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States