Dog Food Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This dip was good but too spicy hot for my liking. Next time I won't put near as many jalepeno peppers in it and possibly add a variety of cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakeItBetterMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This was a hugh hit at my party! Definitly overnight the mixture. The first time I made it I didnt, it still came out ok, but the second time I did refridgerate it and the flavors were great. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I make something very similar to this, it has ground sausage as well as beef and chili peppers instead of jalapeno, but I think I will try adding jalapenos to it next time. As for "interesting names" I think my families recipe has this one beat, cause ours is called "Dirty Diaper Dip" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
A friend pulled this recipe of this website back in 2005 or 2006 and gave me a copy. I didn't make it until last November, when I took it in a crockpot (along with Frito Scoops) to a Dave Ramsey Seminar at my local Seventh-Day Adventist church. After the seminar, when everyone was going through the refreshment line, I noticed that only a few people were touching the dip. I forgot that Seventh-Day Adventists are vegetarians! Needless to say, I was very embarrassed. But those that tasted the dip raved about it. I had plenty of leftovers the next day, so I used the dip for enchiladas. Be sure to use Frito Scoops or another sturdy chip because others will break. I also suggest thinning out the dip with enchilada sauce, salsa, or beef broth if it is too thick for your taste. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is indeed very popular at pot luck events but I too thought it was a bit bland so I added red pepper flakes. I would perhaps add a packet of taco seasoning next time. Also, Worchestershire sauce and mustard (powder or Dijon) add bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is now a dish I have to take to all tailgates...everyone loves it! I use mild jalapenos...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tstorm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This dip was SOOOOO simple and SOOOO good!!! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
As written 4 stars, after using seasoned salt, garlic powder and pepper on meat, 5 stars. Very good as a sandwich filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
DEFINITELY make the night before, and start with less than the listed amount of jalapenos. I used 1/2 the jalapenos the first time I made this, and what tasted fairly lifeless the night before was almost too hot when it was time to serve and I had to add more cheese to make it safe for Wisconsin mouths. I have now made this several times and it is a favorite appetizer when I entertain. I use 1 lb. of beef to each lb. of cheese, and start with 1/4 of the jalapenos, sometimes stirring in more just before serving it. This recipe does NOT serve 48, though. More like 25-30, depending on your crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Who can wait a whole day for the flavors to meld? We can't. I started this 2 hours ago, and we're already chowing down. I used a 7-oz. can of mild green chilis and 1 T. of chili powder in place of the jalapenos. Happened to have an uncooked boneless pork chop and a boneless chicken breast to use up, so I diced them and added to the ground beef, onion, and (of course) a T. of "jar" garlic. After browning, place all ingredients in the slow cooker. I also added part of a brick of cream cheese (again, cleaning out the fridge). Wow, the chunks of meat turned out to be a great addition to this dip. I generally don't mind store brands, but in this case, I highly recommend the Velveeta brand cheese, not a knock-off. My husband is barking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Seven-Layer Dip I

See how to make this crowd-pleasing seven-layer dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States