Dog Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This is absolutely the best dog biscuit recipe. My dog loved it, and so did my friends' dogs. In an albeit not too scientific experiment, my dog chose this biscuit over cooked chicken and store bought dog biscuits. I thought the ground meat was going to be messy but it wasn't at all. I did leave the biscuits in the turned-off oven overnight to dry them up. My dog gained 4lbs in two weeks after I made her these because she wanted them so much that I kept on feeding her. I tried all the other dog biscuit recipes on this website and this is by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is a great recipe but i made only a small batch because I was not sure how to store them and for how long. If anyone knows please post an idea here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
My three dogs LOVED these biscuits! I followed Joan's suggestion and substituted ground beef for the pork, and then used the meat drippings from cooking the ground beef in place of the shortening. I'm not sure if the biscuits require refrigeration (because of the meat and lack of preservatives), but I put the biscuits in the refrigerator just to play it safe. My dogs have just exhausted their supply of these, and they seem disappointed at the store-bought ones I'm giving them until I can make more. Thanks, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I just made these biscuits to give to our 'doggie friends' for the holidays. I'm rating it a full 5 stars because both my boxer and bichon frise are in my kitchen barking at the oven door, waiting for the last cookie sheet to come out. They keep coming back for more. I may have to keep this batch and make yet another for our furry friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
My dogs (poi, maltese, and labs) really love these biscuits. I usually buy 1/2 lb. of ground beef when it's on sale at the market and fry it up after I've cooked bacon, thus eliminating most or all the shortening. I crumble a beef bouillon cube into the hot mixture after it has cooked and mix well. I cut out hearts and call them my California Hearts. Usually I cut out a pan of mini hearts and 3 pans of the regular size. They are wonderful! I do store them in the fridge. However, one time I found a package in a tote bag after a month and it seemed ok. I really like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Fabulous recipe!! My dogs asked for hunks of the dough while I was making them and loved that too. They wait by the oven until it dings and then dance for the treat!! The question was should they be frozen or refridgerated. I asked the All Recipes Staff and here is their answer: We recommend that you freeze your dog treats if you don't think they will be consumed within a few days. The fat in the beef can get old fairly quickly. If your dog does not like cold treats, heat them in the microwave for about 15 seconds. Thanks for your feedback to the Allrecipes.com(r) network. Great Staff, great recipe!! BJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
We did this recipe for a girl scout badge project and it was easy for the girls to make with minimal help.. We substituted the pork for ground beef and the dogs really loved them! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Two enthusiastic paws up! My dog eats a home-prepared diet, and he loved these! I omitted the salt, added some fresh garlic, and a sprinkly of parmesan at the end!! Easy to make, (easier when dough is chilled a bit,at least for me) and will be great gifts for all my dog loving friends. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This recipe is awlsome! My dogs wont stop whinning for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
All the dogs in the family and on the block are lining up for more. I took that as a 5 star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by einygav15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States