Dog Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Garlic is NOT good for animals!! Please OMIT this ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
My Corgi goes after these biscuits like she was starved (believe me she isn't). I made the mistake of putting them in a zip lok bag and they became soft and almost mouldy. Now I put them in a brown bag and all is well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
You can replace the bacon grease with canola oil and just brush the top of the baked treats with a little of the bacon grease. They still love them, but the treats are much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I asked my vet about the garlic. It is such small amount it will not hurt your dog. Plus fleas hate garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Crispy and toasty tasting. All I can say is: WOW!! Since we have 2 dogs I wanted to double the recipe (and since they're going so fast, I'm glad I did!) I only had 4.5 cups of whole wheat flour so I added 1/2 cup of self-rising yellow cornmeal to equal the 5 cups called for and since we had baked ham for dinner last night, I trimmed off the fat, cut it into little bits and rendered fat from it on top of the stove in a pan on medium-low instead of using the bacon fat. Since the fat rendered was a little under the amount of fat called for I added some vegetable oil and then mixed in the crispy left-over bits of ham fat into the dough too! Our dogs have been following me around all morning for more of these treats! These will be baked up for our friend's dogs as Christmas presents this year! One hint though, after you cut the treats ( I used a round cutter that was 1 inch in diameter) use the flat bottom of a bowl to flatten out the treats to a thinner treat (1/4 inch) and extend the baking time to 40 minutes to make them crispier. After placing the cut out cookies to the baking sheet and into the oven, I gathered up the remaining dough, added a drop or two of water, mixed it in to the dough, sprinkled a little more flour on the counter and rolled out the dough again and continued to do this until the last bit of dough was used! OUR DOGS CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF THESE!! Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
I have two dogs and buying biscuits from the store was really adding up. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, I have made it at least a half dozen times already and they LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
A good recipe. It turned out well and my dog loved them. Not a crumb was left! Next time I think I'll try using olive oil instead of the bacon fat since I always have olive oil on hand but usually don't have bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My dog LOVES these. He seems to know when I am making them and eagerly awaits them. I do add 1/4-1/2 cup peanut butter to it b/c he LOVES PB.. I made a batch for my dog and my future mother in law and brother in laws dogs this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the favorite biscuits at the Farmer's Market. I give them to any and all dogs for a treat and the owner can donate if they wish and all proceeds go to the SPCA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Our dogs loved these! I chopped up a slice of bacon and added it to the mix. Also, used chicken cubes instead of beef, as that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States