Dog Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
as far as the person saying garlic is unsafe for dogs- if you are worried about this, check out this site. it pretty much says garlic is safe (and even potentially beneficial) in small quantities, provided the dog doesn't have previous problems, doesn't eat too much of it and doesn't eat it too frequently. http://www.natural-dog-health-remedies.com/garlic-for-dogs.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A healthy, medium sized dog would have to eat a whole 5-oz onion, or several cloves of garlic for it to be dangerous. These were a hit with my chihuahuas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
FIVE STARS!! I just made this recipe and my dogs love it! It is soo simple and basic that you can add your own ingredients, which I love. i only made a few adjustments to the recipe. I kept it in for about 35-40 minutes and I added a small piece of hotdog to the top about 15 minutes before they were done baking. For now I used bacon grease and added bacon bits to the mix. Maybe next time ill use peanut butter instead. Thats how flexible the recipe is. I am just going to continue experimenting until I find the perfect treat. Best homemade dog treat I've seen so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
We've also added drippings from roast with pieces of the meat. Lucy, our beagle, loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made one batch to try out. If my dogs liked them, I wanted to give them to my clients. They were a big hit! I bought enough ingredients to make more. Plan to make more this weekend! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Thank you HOBOLTH4. I use this recipe every week but never follow it exactly. I always add corn meal for crunch and improved poopability. Sometimes I add more eggs. I never put the garlic powder in. I add peanut butter and/or substitute cooking oil for the bacon grease. I would never take the time to roll out dough, instead I throw the dough in a plastic bag, refrigerate, and when the oven is hot I use kitchen scissors to snip pieces onto a baking sheet. I bake at a cooler temperate, longer time to add more crunch. I live 25 miles from the nearest grocery store so I love making my own biscuits, usually at the same time I'm making human cookies. There are so many biscuit, dog treat recipes that are too rich and difficult to make and I appreciate the nearly vegetarian ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by behooved

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
So easy, and my dogs loved these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I went to the cupboard to fetch my dog bone, and when I got there, the cupboard was bare. Found your recipe and my dog just loves them. She keeps chasing me in the kitchen and wines for more. This was so easy! I will make them again and again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorey
Living In: Goulds, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We added a husky to our family 2 weeks ago, and I made her these to welcome her. She loved them! First batch I used fat from the Christmas turkey. Tonight I used the fat from our New Year pork roast. Whole wheat is the best, but this worked fine with regular white flour. We rolled them out on my silicone sheets and just cut them into diamonds. The first time I used my apple cutter- perfect size and shape, but still required trimming. If you just roll out the dough right on the cookie sheet, you can cut them and they are ready to go in oven. The dog went nuts when they came out of the oven. No sense worrying about cute shapes. The dog doesn't care and you just need to break them up.**** since I wrote this review, I found dog-bone shaped cookie cutters at HOBBY LOBBY! They have ig one and bite size. We use the smaller ones and keep busy keeping our husky and her friends supplied with treats. Make two batches, share them with friends! Warning- watch out for the human cookie-dough snatchers in your house! They'll like these too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I asked my vet about the garlic. It is such small amount it will not hurt your dog. Plus fleas hate garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States