Dog Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My dog LOVES these. He seems to know when I am making them and eagerly awaits them. I do add 1/4-1/2 cup peanut butter to it b/c he LOVES PB.. I made a batch for my dog and my future mother in law and brother in laws dogs this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I have been using this recipe for many years. I got the original from a school fund raiser when I bought a dog bone shaped cookie cutter. My dogs (and cats, too) love these cookies. I lost my recipe and was so happy to find it again today. What I do to make life easier is throw everything in my food processor. I then roll it out on a floured surface and either cut with a cutter or use my pizza cutter to make squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
You can replace the bacon grease with canola oil and just brush the top of the baked treats with a little of the bacon grease. They still love them, but the treats are much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Garlic is NOT good for animals!! Please OMIT this ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the favorite biscuits at the Farmer's Market. I give them to any and all dogs for a treat and the owner can donate if they wish and all proceeds go to the SPCA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Crispy and toasty tasting. All I can say is: WOW!! Since we have 2 dogs I wanted to double the recipe (and since they're going so fast, I'm glad I did!) I only had 4.5 cups of whole wheat flour so I added 1/2 cup of self-rising yellow cornmeal to equal the 5 cups called for and since we had baked ham for dinner last night, I trimmed off the fat, cut it into little bits and rendered fat from it on top of the stove in a pan on medium-low instead of using the bacon fat. Since the fat rendered was a little under the amount of fat called for I added some vegetable oil and then mixed in the crispy left-over bits of ham fat into the dough too! Our dogs have been following me around all morning for more of these treats! These will be baked up for our friend's dogs as Christmas presents this year! One hint though, after you cut the treats ( I used a round cutter that was 1 inch in diameter) use the flat bottom of a bowl to flatten out the treats to a thinner treat (1/4 inch) and extend the baking time to 40 minutes to make them crispier. After placing the cut out cookies to the baking sheet and into the oven, I gathered up the remaining dough, added a drop or two of water, mixed it in to the dough, sprinkled a little more flour on the counter and rolled out the dough again and continued to do this until the last bit of dough was used! OUR DOGS CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF THESE!! Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
These were pretty good; it was kind of a pain to have to fry bacon in order to get the grease (which I didn't have on hand). I made them for a puppy party and the dogs seemed to like them. I used star-shaped cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I have two chihuahuas and a min pin, and they loved them. I did reduce the temp and time cooked just a little bit because I made very small cookies. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
My pup, Kismet, loved 'em!! I didn't use cookie cutters, I rolled them into balls and flattened them with a fork (like a peanut butter cookie). I also added a bit of shredded carrot. Very easy to make...Kismet really enjoyed the "batter" also, but who doesn't enjoy munching on the "cookie" dough? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moravia, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Every dog I've given these to LOVED them! The one and only time our dog has ever put his nose on the kitchen table was when I left the bag of these treats sitting on it! I like to double batch with the grease from baking a package of bacon. A little less fat but obviously still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States