Dog Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I'm re-reviewing after making these again and reading other erroneous comments. Garlic and bacon grease are NOT bad for dogs -- dogs aren't people and their physiology and metabolism are not like ours! I have an older dog who's system is breaking down and bacon grease (yes, all that cholesterol!) can help him rebuild muscle. Dogs were designed to eat meat -- don't try veganing your dog or you'll damage its health severely. And the garlic helps repel fleas. Onion is bad for dogs and while related to garlic, is a totaly different plant with totally different chemicals. Sure, if you overdo the garlic or the grease (if you overfeed ANYTHING, especially if the poor dog gets no exercise!) you'll do the dog harm, but that's not going to happen in the EXCELLENT mutt-approved recipe, especially since these are a TREAT and not a full-bowl everyday meal. As before, I left out the wheat germ as I had none and added nutritional (brewer's) yeast instead (again, another flea-fighter). I'll be making these again, of course, and then we'll all go for a nice long romp in the park.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great recipe! Unlike most dog biscuit recipes, the ingredients are either on your shelf or easy to find at the grocery store. I made these for a bake sale, instead of sweet treats for humans. They went like hotcakes - could've sold twice as many! I used vegetable oil instead of bacon fat for shelf stability. I ate one too, since I was selling them. They're filling and tasty, once you get over the idea of a cookie texture but savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Don't substitue canola oil for the bacon grease. Canola oil isn't the healthy choice we've been led to believe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great recipe! And actually garlic is GOOD for dogs! It repels fleas and is a good daily addition to their diet. I have 9 dogs and we give them garlic daily and have for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Our dachshund's adore these treats!! They are easy to make and turn out perfectly. I brushed mine with an egg wash and they turned out very glossy and pretty! We will make these to add to our christmas baskets for our family and friends with dogs. Thank you for sharing, we have five dachshunds so we're giving five stars for five happy waggin' tails!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
RE claim garlic is bad for animals: Although garlic has been linked to causing anemia is dogs, this is only in extremely large doses. In small doses eg a clove or less (depending on size of dog), garlic is known to be beneficial in the control of ticks, fleas and worms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I make this recipe for all my friend's dogs...they just LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Our dogs loved these! I chopped up a slice of bacon and added it to the mix. Also, used chicken cubes instead of beef, as that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Great Danes, Boxers, Labs, and Pitbulls like this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe! I didn't have wheat germ so I used all natural oat bran cereal. I pressed the dough into a mini Christmas Tree cookie pan that had 12 trees in it,they came out adorable. Some for our dogs and the neighbors for a Christmas present. Thanks for submitting this. Susan in NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States