Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Loved this recipe, very tasty and tender. I cooked it in the oven on a rack at 180 two and a half hours. Will make this one again. GOOD, GOOD, GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very Good recipe, But Curing salt is a must to rid the meat of bacteria and helps it preserve longer. great flavor, but dyhydrators dont get hot enough to kill bacteria. The curing salt is cheap and can be found at any sporting goods store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
The jerky came out very flavorful. Although when left overnight, it was a bit too salty. I'd suggest either reducing the salt or marinating a shorter period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Thanks Doc! - This 5th batch will marinate til Sun. morn. (4 days in fridge) - See what difference vs. just overnight - My last 3 batches - used Ground beef - After drying - stored in glass jar in fridge Roll ground beef into (1" dia. roll) - 1/4" Slice & press to "rounds" - Load up dryer - NO CHANGE TO Doc's RECIPE (except meat) - My Ground Beef choice means "no Dental Floss Needed" if you know what I mean -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
this by far is the best beef jerky also beef up the mixture a little and it also goes good as a steak marinade also good on deer meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had a beef jerky cook off in my kitchen today using this recipe and two from Recipezaar.com and quite frankly this came in last place. Maybe it was the choice of meat?? The only round I could find was quite thin and did not cut into strips well. I used flank for the other two and they were fabulous. The other two had much more flavor than this one did as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCOZZEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was very good beef jerky had a nice flavor. I might use a little less soy sauce next time though, because a few people who tried it said there was a little too much for their taste. When I cut these into strips I cut against the grain on the meat(something my hubby suggested to make it easier to chew). My store carries 2 different types of "Liquid Smoke" I used the Natural Mesquite flavor with this recipe. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINKIESSCOOBY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
My husband is known for his jerky but wanted something different. He LOVED this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Followed recipe exactly...used nesco dehydrator and at 5 hours was done. Excellent recipe...not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I will say this is the jerky recipe I will forever stick with. I normally knock off stars if I change the recipe. But I just cannot bring myself to as this is so yummy!! I double the marinade, and omitted the salt (per other review suggestions), and used mesquite liquid smoke. I also used sirloin, which I thought is much easier to cut excess fat off, then london broil. Less oil while dehydrating I found as well. It is by far the best jerky I have had in my life...and I LOVE JERKY. And I made it which is so cool!! I love salt, and I can't say this enough, try without adding the tsps of salt first. You will be happy with the result. Thanks for posting. Now if we can get a ground beef jerky version that has the same magical taste. I think I will try by mixing all the dry ingredients into the ground beef, make into strips with a jerky gun, then coat with the mixed wet ingredients. I will edit my review and let you know of the results. Apparently, liquid marinades to ground beef, equals a real mess if mixed all together at once : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States