Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very Good recipe, But Curing salt is a must to rid the meat of bacteria and helps it preserve longer. great flavor, but dyhydrators dont get hot enough to kill bacteria. The curing salt is cheap and can be found at any sporting goods store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Tasty but not too strong. I doubled the marinade as this did not cover the meat well enough or at least compared to other recipes we made the same day. Even then it was not enough to cover 2 pounds of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
We really liked it. The amount of salt was perfect for us but that may be because the liquid smoke I used had no sodium in it. I made deer jerkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great flavor. I did decrease the salt and marinating time based on reading some other reviews but I will make it again using the recommended amounts and marinate longer. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This marinade works just as well with turkey we all love it with both turkey and beef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2acres4me

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I make jerky a lot and my recipe is very similar,but I use eye of the round roast, and cut the strips thick at least an inch.HMMMM! Beer and jerky,nothing better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ex-Braniff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Thanks Doc! - This 5th batch will marinate til Sun. morn. (4 days in fridge) - See what difference vs. just overnight - My last 3 batches - used Ground beef - After drying - stored in glass jar in fridge Roll ground beef into (1" dia. roll) - 1/4" Slice & press to "rounds" - Load up dryer - NO CHANGE TO Doc's RECIPE (except meat) - My Ground Beef choice means "no Dental Floss Needed" if you know what I mean -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good flavor, I used to make jerky for my son while he was in the Navy and served in the Gulf. The recipe I used was similar to yours omitting the meat tenderizer, garlic powder, onion powder and paprika, cut the salt in half added 1/2 tsp. pepper and used London Broil instead of the round cut on the bias (or across the grain). I was so glad to see this recipe on here because I had lost mine, I thought forever. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had a beef jerky cook off in my kitchen today using this recipe and two from Recipezaar.com and quite frankly this came in last place. Maybe it was the choice of meat?? The only round I could find was quite thin and did not cut into strips well. I used flank for the other two and they were fabulous. The other two had much more flavor than this one did as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCOZZEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States