Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Fantastic jerky. I buy a bottom round roast and my butcher slices it thin for me (costs a little bit more to get it sliced jerky thin but it is WELL WORTH IT). I cut it into jerkly length strips with a pair of cutlery scissors. I follow the receipe to the letter except I substitute low sodium soy sauce, hot paparika, and curing salt for those three ingrediants. I let it marinate for three days and then put it in the dehydrater for 3 to 4 hours. I have had many rave reviews on it and get asked when am I making another batch. I just put on a 6 pound batch to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I will say this is the jerky recipe I will forever stick with. I normally knock off stars if I change the recipe. But I just cannot bring myself to as this is so yummy!! I double the marinade, and omitted the salt (per other review suggestions), and used mesquite liquid smoke. I also used sirloin, which I thought is much easier to cut excess fat off, then london broil. Less oil while dehydrating I found as well. It is by far the best jerky I have had in my life...and I LOVE JERKY. And I made it which is so cool!! I love salt, and I can't say this enough, try without adding the tsps of salt first. You will be happy with the result. Thanks for posting. Now if we can get a ground beef jerky version that has the same magical taste. I think I will try by mixing all the dry ingredients into the ground beef, make into strips with a jerky gun, then coat with the mixed wet ingredients. I will edit my review and let you know of the results. Apparently, liquid marinades to ground beef, equals a real mess if mixed all together at once : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dallenr2
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I used Round Steak cut into thin strips and I left out the liquid smoke, tenderizer and paprika. I cooked on my Weber Grill over low coals. It turned out Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
the best! enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepicklechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My husband and kids LOVED THIS RECIPE, we are a hunter family however so I used Deer, Moose, Sheep and Mountain goat, and they are worked out great! I let the Sheep and Goat marinade longer, and extra day, because it is a little different to cook with. But everyone was greatly impressed with this recipe!! The only thing I didn't have on hand was the liquid smoke, but since I've done this a few times without it seems unnecessary to add it now. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherhubbard77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great flavorful recipe. After making it the first time I no longer add the salt. Not needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe and easy to make! This Jerky tastes great and will be the last recipe you will ever need for Jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Tried out this recipe in my new Excalibur and it EXCELLENT not sure about the best jerky i have had but certainly the best I've made Thank you for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
An excellent recipe with just the right amount of bite. Go easy on the salt, as you may find this a touch too salty, what with the soy sauce, Worchestershire, garlic and onion powders, all of which are salty unto themselves. Overall, this tastes exactly the way beef jerky should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Awesome!!! I marinated for 2hours, used London broil, added 1.5tsp of Tony Chachere's Seasoning, cut into 1/4 inch slices , used a meat hammer and flattened/tenderized the meat before putting in the dehydrator. Meat turned out to be 1/8 inch after I used the hammer.. I like my jerky hard... This turned out perfect... Best jerky ever..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States