Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Just to say that I have made several recipes over the years and I always seem to come back to this one. The Jerky can be canned in sterilized jars, but I never seem to have it too long in the pantry as it is a great snack among my family members. Normally I dry the jerky in a dehydrator overnight. Today I am going to dry it in my new gas smoker and also the oven to see how that works out as I am making 3 times this recipes. At times I add more coarse black pepper to one or two racks, while drying, for an added peppered flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I've been making beef jerky for a long time and found this one to be one of the best recipes I've tried. I marinated for 2 days....not intentionally but it did work out that way. I was afraid of the saltiness that was mentioned in another review but it honestly turned out fantastic. I changed a few things though. Used smoked paprika instead of plain and added some (about a tsp.) of chipotle powder. Its spicy and exactly what my family likes in jerky! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPHESIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Got to say....one of the easiest recipes for jerky I was able to find and it turned out great! I'm not a fan of things overly salty. I marinated it over night and it was not salty for my tastes, it turned out just right! I don't have a dehydrator and I saw that one reviewer said that they baked there's. I live at a higher elevation and had to bake it longer then 2 1/2 hrs! Just keep in eye on it or it can over dry, I would say if it's your first time making the recipe keep a close eye on t he meat during the drying prosess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame Minx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent recipe, great flavor. I skipped the tenderizer because I like my jerky tough. Also I used chili powder on half of it instead of liquid smoke which made for a spicier jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Deftinitely a hit!! First time making jerky, or dehydrating anything, but this was a hit! Dehydrated for about 6 hrs, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made this for members of a pirate crew I am involved with and they raved! I made 2 lbs of it and it was gone before the end of the first day! I should have made more. Everyone has been asking me to make it again - I get requests constantly. I was crunched on time so it only marinated the morning I made it for about 6 hours but it still came out phenomenal! This will be a staple festival recipe and just for the heck of it recipe also. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
so far everything is smelling delicious.....it is very hard for me to stay out of the jerky as the smell is sooo inviting. This recipe is better than any marinade I can get from the store. I will update when the first batch is done. Both batches are done. This recipie is GREAT. The fam loves it and my co-workers are exstatic about it!!! Best results- marinate for 12 hrs then put in dehydrator for 12 hrs, reversing racks, and turning meat after 6 hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made my first batch ever, with my new machine and it is GRRRRATE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great recipe for jerky. The family LOVED it! I've got another batch marinating now with a little crushed red pepper added to bring some heat. After removing meat from marinade I placed it between two paper towels then placed that between two pieces of waxed paper to pound it out. Pounding it between paper towels helped take some of the moisture out the steak before putting it in the dehydrator. Only had in the dehydrator for 4 hours - after taking out I wrapped the jerky in paper towels again to let it rest in the refrigerator before sealing up with a food sealer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is my first attempt to making jerky, spend tons of money on store jerky, Im trying to home make it and love the ingredients in this one.... Im using a bonless cross rib pot roast, its really lean and with the extra fat Ive cut off Im marinading and giving it to the dog for a treat! I will repost with the results. didnt have the meat tenderizer so omitted that and no salt to start, im not a salty person. plus Im using a light soya sauce and fresh minced onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Frost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States