Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I will say this is the jerky recipe I will forever stick with. I normally knock off stars if I change the recipe. But I just cannot bring myself to as this is so yummy!! I double the marinade, and omitted the salt (per other review suggestions), and used mesquite liquid smoke. I also used sirloin, which I thought is much easier to cut excess fat off, then london broil. Less oil while dehydrating I found as well. It is by far the best jerky I have had in my life...and I LOVE JERKY. And I made it which is so cool!! I love salt, and I can't say this enough, try without adding the tsps of salt first. You will be happy with the result. Thanks for posting. Now if we can get a ground beef jerky version that has the same magical taste. I think I will try by mixing all the dry ingredients into the ground beef, make into strips with a jerky gun, then coat with the mixed wet ingredients. I will edit my review and let you know of the results. Apparently, liquid marinades to ground beef, equals a real mess if mixed all together at once : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dallenr2
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I used Round Steak cut into thin strips and I left out the liquid smoke, tenderizer and paprika. I cooked on my Weber Grill over low coals. It turned out Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
the best! enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepicklechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My husband and kids LOVED THIS RECIPE, we are a hunter family however so I used Deer, Moose, Sheep and Mountain goat, and they are worked out great! I let the Sheep and Goat marinade longer, and extra day, because it is a little different to cook with. But everyone was greatly impressed with this recipe!! The only thing I didn't have on hand was the liquid smoke, but since I've done this a few times without it seems unnecessary to add it now. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherhubbard77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great flavorful recipe. After making it the first time I no longer add the salt. Not needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe and easy to make! This Jerky tastes great and will be the last recipe you will ever need for Jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Tried out this recipe in my new Excalibur and it EXCELLENT not sure about the best jerky i have had but certainly the best I've made Thank you for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
An excellent recipe with just the right amount of bite. Go easy on the salt, as you may find this a touch too salty, what with the soy sauce, Worchestershire, garlic and onion powders, all of which are salty unto themselves. Overall, this tastes exactly the way beef jerky should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Awesome!!! I marinated for 2hours, used London broil, added 1.5tsp of Tony Chachere's Seasoning, cut into 1/4 inch slices , used a meat hammer and flattened/tenderized the meat before putting in the dehydrator. Meat turned out to be 1/8 inch after I used the hammer.. I like my jerky hard... This turned out perfect... Best jerky ever..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I have had great success following it exactly and by making slight alterations. The recipe doesn't specify type of salt so I use pickling salt (dissolves in cold water easier, curing salt adds nitrites which are unnecessary if your dehydrator goes above 160 or if oven is used) I have found that omitting the Liquid Smoke and adding 1tsp cayenne pepper and 1tsp curry is wonderful. We also make a "hot" version where we sub hot paprika, add 2tsp cayenne, 1tsp crushed reds and 1tsp curry Should also note I am non-classically trained professional chef and butcher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States