Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Dear Doc, Your Jerky ideas are incredible. I made some adjustments with my son, from targeting over a 100 people this last week from all races and genders. It seems that the ingredients that work combined with marinating and dehydrating are as follows in creating the New, "ZOMBIE JERKY": * Top Round London Broil 1 pound * Black pepper * Worchestershire * Onion Powder * Garlic Powder * Meat Tenderizer * Liquid Smoke * Paprika * No Salt * No Soy Sauce * Chipalta Chile Pepper * Marinating time: 20 hours * Dehydrating time: 8 hours Thanks for all you help, Chef Zombie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Best jerky recipe I've found yet! This is awesome..I put it together and accidentally left it in the fridge four days instead of overnight. I think that made a huge diference compared to other recipes tried. Works perfect in the oven at 180 F for 2 1/2 hours if you dont have a dehydrator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Just to say that I have made several recipes over the years and I always seem to come back to this one. The Jerky can be canned in sterilized jars, but I never seem to have it too long in the pantry as it is a great snack among my family members. Normally I dry the jerky in a dehydrator overnight. Today I am going to dry it in my new gas smoker and also the oven to see how that works out as I am making 3 times this recipes. At times I add more coarse black pepper to one or two racks, while drying, for an added peppered flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I've been making beef jerky for a long time and found this one to be one of the best recipes I've tried. I marinated for 2 days....not intentionally but it did work out that way. I was afraid of the saltiness that was mentioned in another review but it honestly turned out fantastic. I changed a few things though. Used smoked paprika instead of plain and added some (about a tsp.) of chipotle powder. Its spicy and exactly what my family likes in jerky! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPHESIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Got to say....one of the easiest recipes for jerky I was able to find and it turned out great! I'm not a fan of things overly salty. I marinated it over night and it was not salty for my tastes, it turned out just right! I don't have a dehydrator and I saw that one reviewer said that they baked there's. I live at a higher elevation and had to bake it longer then 2 1/2 hrs! Just keep in eye on it or it can over dry, I would say if it's your first time making the recipe keep a close eye on t he meat during the drying prosess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame Minx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent recipe, great flavor. I skipped the tenderizer because I like my jerky tough. Also I used chili powder on half of it instead of liquid smoke which made for a spicier jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Deftinitely a hit!! First time making jerky, or dehydrating anything, but this was a hit! Dehydrated for about 6 hrs, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made this for members of a pirate crew I am involved with and they raved! I made 2 lbs of it and it was gone before the end of the first day! I should have made more. Everyone has been asking me to make it again - I get requests constantly. I was crunched on time so it only marinated the morning I made it for about 6 hours but it still came out phenomenal! This will be a staple festival recipe and just for the heck of it recipe also. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
so far everything is smelling delicious.....it is very hard for me to stay out of the jerky as the smell is sooo inviting. This recipe is better than any marinade I can get from the store. I will update when the first batch is done. Both batches are done. This recipie is GREAT. The fam loves it and my co-workers are exstatic about it!!! Best results- marinate for 12 hrs then put in dehydrator for 12 hrs, reversing racks, and turning meat after 6 hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made my first batch ever, with my new machine and it is GRRRRATE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States