Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Loved it som much the family ate it all in two days and am now making a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
OK recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I have tried this a few times and love it. I have tweaked it slightly, double the brown sugar, onion and garlic, half the salt, and use chipotle instead of paprika! I have also added honey garlic sauce or teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is great...even Mr Picky liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JailCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I have made it twice with the ingredients exactly AND the 2 pounds of meat. Both times I have had to DOUBLE the marinade amount as it didn't cover the meat enough. I did put in a 9 x 13 inch glass dish that I have cover for and turned it have way through the approximate 24 hours of marinating. I would like to know if anyone else had to double the marinade. I will say that I am still giving it 5 stars BECAUSE my family and (for the 2 days it barely lasted) said it was as good and better than "store bought".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Update. Used a chuck roast first time. Flavor was great but meat was tough, very tough, even though we beat the fecal matter out of it. This time, half the pepper, a tablespoon more brown sugar and London Broil, also pounded, but only slightly. No kick (because of my husbands delicate sensibilities) but incredibly tender and outlandishly delicious. Also marinated for two days. Doc, it just gets better and better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this just like it said but doubled it because I was making alot. Will definitely make it again! My first time to ever make jerky so I was nervous about it. Loved it, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe is very easy to make and very tasty. I made it exactly as stated except for the meat tenderizer and garlic powder because we didn't have any. I used fresh garlic instead of the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I like this jerky recipe very much, reminds me of the hickory farms beef jerky we used to get when I was a kid. And I've been missing that! I only gave it four stars because I did it a little differently from the recipe here. I didn't use meat tenderizer, I don't like using msg and I believe that is what it is. I used gluten free low sodium tamari for the soy and I also cut down the salt by about half. The first couple times I made it I didn't have liquid smoke so I used chipotle powder which was too spicy and didn't mix well. I also used the amounts in the recipe for one pound of meat. I would double the recipe for two pounds of meat. I was using this without the liquid smoke and it was ok but it's better with the hickory flavored smoke I used today. And I warmed the marinade on the stove and then let it cool to get the ingredients well incorporated. I found that mixing everything room temperature, I couldn't get everything dissolved and parts of the jerky would be more flavorful or more spicy than others. Warming the marinade allowed the brown sugar to dissolve and all the other ingredients to incorporate well. Once that was cool which didn’t take long, I added it to the meat, mixed it well and let it marinate for about 12 hours in the fridge. I used my oven to dry it, 180 degrees which is the lowest it goes, for about 4 hours. With these changes, I'm very happy with the recipe and will be using it again. I shared it with friends that really liked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I just finished putting the dehydrator away after a good cleaning using this recipe. I let it marinate for two days in the frig before making the jerky.For some reason it only took about 8 hours. It usually takes 18 hours or so when I use a different receipe. I was looking for different ingredients and came across Doc's.It has a very nice taste not at all spicy. I added 2 tablespoons of honey. This was made for my son to take back to Toledo Univ. I am getting ready to make another batch to give for a stocking stuffer. This time I am going to add a little sriracha sauce for a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States