Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I make jerky often and tried this for an alternative to my regular recipe. I didn't add meat tenderizer (why would you; it's jerky), added half tsp. of cumin and half tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes and it came out really flavorful and delicious. This will be my go-to recipe for now. I will take the tip from above and start using curing salt to extend the life of the product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
You did it! This is truly a great recipe with tons of flavor. We have made this countless time so thank you! The only addition we did to the recipe was marinated the venison for 3 days. It was so good every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I've been toying with this recipe got about 6 months and I THINK I got it... I use 1/2 cup Soy Sauce and added 1 tsp ground sage and 1 tsp dill weed. The only problem is that I can' t keep it in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Loved it som much the family ate it all in two days and am now making a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
OK recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I have tried this a few times and love it. I have tweaked it slightly, double the brown sugar, onion and garlic, half the salt, and use chipotle instead of paprika! I have also added honey garlic sauce or teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is great...even Mr Picky liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JailCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I have made it twice with the ingredients exactly AND the 2 pounds of meat. Both times I have had to DOUBLE the marinade amount as it didn't cover the meat enough. I did put in a 9 x 13 inch glass dish that I have cover for and turned it have way through the approximate 24 hours of marinating. I would like to know if anyone else had to double the marinade. I will say that I am still giving it 5 stars BECAUSE my family and (for the 2 days it barely lasted) said it was as good and better than "store bought".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Update. Used a chuck roast first time. Flavor was great but meat was tough, very tough, even though we beat the fecal matter out of it. This time, half the pepper, a tablespoon more brown sugar and London Broil, also pounded, but only slightly. No kick (because of my husbands delicate sensibilities) but incredibly tender and outlandishly delicious. Also marinated for two days. Doc, it just gets better and better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this just like it said but doubled it because I was making alot. Will definitely make it again! My first time to ever make jerky so I was nervous about it. Loved it, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States