Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have tried it several times and just now I put six pounds of meat to marinate overnight. No question about it, this is the best recipe for jerky. My two boys call daily to see if there is any jerky ready. Other recipes are good, but this one is THE RECIPE. Thanks compadre!I use a common store bought dehydrator and the meat is ready in 5 to 7 hours, depending on the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
You might as well double this recipe to start with. This is by far the best basic jerky recipe out there. As is it is GREAT and it leaves room for tweaking with out destroying the results. Add a teaspoon of ground or crushed red pepper for a little kick. Bump up the sugar or add honey for a little sweater side. Add a couple of tablespoons of teriyaki sauce. 100 times better than the store bought stuff and much cheaper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I have tried dozens of recipes for making beef jerky, this is without question, THE BEST! It's tangy and has a subtle peppery taste. This stuff is amazing. We actually made 10lbs of jerky and it only lasted 2 days before everyone ate it. Just returned from store with 20lbs of meat to make a fresh batch for the weekend! Amazing Recipe, thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have made this twice now and it is every bit as good as what I was paying $38.00 a pound for if not better, I did add some crushed red pepper flakes and right before drying gave it a good shot of course ground black pepper. Thanks Doc!!! I am going to try it in the smoker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. I also add 1/2 teas. honey powder and 1/4 teas. cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
For those who think this isn't enough, put all ingredients in a plastic ziplock and the juices flow. I let mine marinate over 24 hours, 1/4 in London Broil. Only took 4 hours in my Excalibur dehydrator. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We tried this recipe with my two kids who wanted to make beef jerky for the first time. They (all of us, really) loved it so much we had to make another batch as soon as the first batch was eaten. On the second batch we used a little less soy sauce and a little more Worcestershire (sp?) sauce and we liked that flavor a bit more; but the recipe, as it stands, is just excellent. The taste is really addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Way to salty! I like the flavor, but I am going to cut out most of the salt next time, since I think the soy sauce has enough salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fluttershy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is excellent. I have the butcher cut the beef so I start with very thin slices. I do not use liquid smoke or meat tenderizer, but I do start with a good cut of beef. My family and friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I just received my first dehydrator. After much research, I decided to try this recipe in hopes to 'get it right' the first time around. This marinade isn't just the best....it's perfection! My picky husband tried the first piece and told me I had to hide it otherwise it would all be gone by morning. Thank you for the years of trial and error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States