Doc's Best Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe on a wing and a prayer that I would not mess it up, I fallowed everything exact and it turned out perfect! The marinade is wonderful, the taste is everything beef jerky should be. I used my oven for this instead, and still great. My family has eaten almost all of it already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe was really good! Because I was letting it marinade overnight, I omitted the salt based on other reviews. I used the hickory flavor of liquid smoke, and a london broil cut against the grain. I would recommend checking it every hour after the first 2 hours. I have a dehydrator and took it off after 6 hours - probably an hour too long. Any longer and it would have become brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe with a couple variations. 1.) I used venison 2.) I marinated it for 30 hours 3.) I eliminated the liquid smoke and meat tenderizer, then dried it in the smoker using apple wood. 4.) I didn't pound it thin. I prefer a thicker meatier jerky. 5.) I separated the marinade and the meat to two bowls and added about four tablespoons of pureed scotch bonnets to one of the bowls. (It was spicy, but not unbearable). My only regret is that I didn't make more. I took the batch to work and only got one piece for myself. everybody that tried it came back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Not enough time for that meat to suck up any marinate.. Brown sugar really! sweet and smokey, also take out the Worcestershire. It's so common and it doesn't work.. Oh yeah where is the Garlic!! Also use tamari not soy, soy make's it taste to salty..!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This is a great jerky recipe. I make this all the time using gluten-free soy sauce (my son has an allergy) and we take it backpacking and fishing. I have tried quite a few recipes and I keep coming back to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I make jerky often and tried this for an alternative to my regular recipe. I didn't add meat tenderizer (why would you; it's jerky), added half tsp. of cumin and half tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes and it came out really flavorful and delicious. This will be my go-to recipe for now. I will take the tip from above and start using curing salt to extend the life of the product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
You did it! This is truly a great recipe with tons of flavor. We have made this countless time so thank you! The only addition we did to the recipe was marinated the venison for 3 days. It was so good every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I've been toying with this recipe got about 6 months and I THINK I got it... I use 1/2 cup Soy Sauce and added 1 tsp ground sage and 1 tsp dill weed. The only problem is that I can' t keep it in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Loved it som much the family ate it all in two days and am now making a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
OK recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States