Dobos Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This is good. I had my grandmothers recipe for Dobos and used it for years before I switched to this easier, more streamlined version. I still use my original chocolate buttercream recipe which I have posted here. This also freezes very well if you cut them into slices and separate them with wax paper. Very rich, very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I just made this recipe for our church function tomorrow. Yes, it is time consuming, but only because I had only one 9-inch spring form. I baked the layers for 10 minutes each. they came out very nice and delicious. I was going to make a square cake but my square pan was way too big, so the cake became a 5-layer cake. I did not make the top layer with the sugar, I just didn't feel like bothering with it. I will dust it with cocoa powder and it will be a Stephanie Cake (Stefania torta in Hungarian). They are the same except one is with sugar layer on top, the other with cocoa powder. I did not use the buttercream that comes with the recipe only because of the raw eggs it called for. I used a different recipe that called for cooking the eggs with sugar. However, the cake looks great, can't wait to cut it tomorrow to see the results. It also tastes delicious as I had to do some "formatting" and tasted it with the chocolate cream. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andilipi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Good taste, looks fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipes is good. If anyone wants to see an easy way to do the caramel and cut it, watch The Aubergine Chef's Dobos Totre video. I do not recommend his recipe though, made with butter and the whites aren't separated, but the caramel part is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I recently made this for my husband and his family who are Hungarian and they were shocked. My mother-in-law didn't think I would be able to make this but she was shocked when I did. This will be a go to cake for our special holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this for my father-in-law who used to make a dobos torte. I followed this cake recipe to a "T" and it came out perfect. I used 9" pans that are just flat disks my in-law had made years ago. I put parchment paper on it before I poured batter. WOrked like a charm, when I took out of oven I flipped it onto a cookie sheet lined with more parchment paper and then you peel of paper and let cool...Cake tasted great and father-in-law LOVED it and said it was perfect! I did use a different chocolate buttercream frosting though...Oh, and I found if you use 1 1/4 dry measure cups of batter, you will get 6 cakes exactly. This recipe is SO easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Actually the word "dobos" means drummer. (I'm full Hungarian so I know :D) By the way this cake is one of the most famous and well-known cakes from Hungary and worth making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
One of the most authentic recipes. But their are two problems: Dobos means drummer in Hungarian, not "like a drum" and please give us back Jozsef Dobos to us Hungarians, because we are very proud of him. And since he was born in Hungary and died in Hungary, and he had his pastry shop in Hungary, and he created Dobos Torte in Hungary, I assume this makes him Hungarian. Thank you very much,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The cake is too heavy. Instead of dusting with flour, assemble the cake with the frosting, as you bake it. The layers should be thin enough to cool almost immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this for my Mom's 80th Birthday. She is a first generation Canadian, her parents are from Hungary. This went over with rave reviews!! I loved the experience of creating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom 2-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States