Dizzy Pineapple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Ok, so i read all the reviews and was very leary of trying this...but it's all i had in my cabinets and we had to have breakfast... so i altered it thus: I added 1/3 cup BROWN SUGAR rather than white I used crushed pineapple. I layered the bottom of the pan with melted butter, crushed pineapple and brown sugar mixed together. I used homemade cherry wine instead of beer. The kids loved it. It was like pineapple upside down BREAD instead of cake, but it was good. the wine flavor still came through, but the topping with it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I give it 3 stars for the novelty aspect. I would leave either the beer or the pineapple out. They don't go really well together. Otherwise it came out pretty good. I followed the advice of others and did some of my own. Here are my total tweaks: I used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 cup oil and half a bottle of beer. If I were to do pineapple without the beer I would probably up the sugar to 3/4 cup or 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam Nemati
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Several problems: More sugar (1/2 cup sugar) Needs a bit of oil Needs 2 eggs Beer must be very mild in flavor! I hoped it would work for me, but nope, it needs these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I didn't like this recipe. I tried it with crushed pinapples and club soda. Still couldn't get past the texture. Will definitely not try this again. Not even to change ingredients. It was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I just made this bread,and like the other reviews,, I was impressed with the few ingred. quick and fast it was,, as for flavor,,maybe next time will used crushed pineapple,, and diff beer,, beer flavor stayed strong,, maybe we didnt need a hiney as much as we thought we did,,I will give it one more try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I don't know if it was me or the recipe. But I did follow it exactly! I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Extremely easy. The beer taste stayed with the bread. I would use crushed pineapple next time and may be try a different beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This is okay. Not bad for the time and ingredients involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
this recipes sounds really good to me but ended up being way to yeasty sorry i didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States