Dixie Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Barb's recipes is true to it's word-- these cookies are very soft and cake-like. I added a couple dashes of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla and omitted the lemon zest and nutmeg. I also molded dough into balls and then flattened them by hand. Overall, a very good sugar cookie. I would recommend under baking these slightly at 7 1/2-8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe makes a very cake like cookie. Be careful to take out when the tops are just beginning to lose their glisten. Made 24 2-1/2 inch round cookies when using heaping teaspoon full of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I think this is a great basic recipe. The dough was very manageable. I excluded Lemon Zest or Nugmeg, but added Caramon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
These are awesome. I didn't have any lemon zest so I added a few drops of lemon extract and it worked great! My husband, a sugar cookie fanatic, is going to love them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
These cookies are VERY good. They remind me of an Archway sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
My four kids and my husband loved these cookies- they are very delicately-flavored and it's convenient not having to refrigerate the dough like many other sugar cookie recipes. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I thought these tasted great but they did spread & came out looking like normal, flat cookies. Unfortunately, I had picked these because of the picture which shows nice puffy, mound cookies, so that was a little disappointing.UPDATE ONE DAY LATER: Changing a 4 star rating to a 2 star because, once completely cooled these are a mess! They're so soft, you can't pick them up & they have a TERRIBLE aftertaste-which I'm sure is the baking soda. My gut told me to decrease the baking soda but I figured, with the good reviews & no one else mentioning the excessive measurement, it must be ok. But it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
really good cookie dough, and ok cookies..They came out crispy and flat. They are time sensitive in the oven which makes it hard to time them right. They also leave a little after taste that isn't the best... other than that they were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
My daughter was looking for a quick and easy recipe for her German language class and found this one. It was so easy for her to make and they are declicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
lovely delicate cookie-i will double up on the nutmeg and lemon next time for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States