Dixie Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
A really nice light cookie. I never put salt into any dessert recipes. The cookie baked up on the flat side but overall a really nice tart cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Stypa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
love these cookies! so so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have made these cookies twice. Both times the cookies were gone within 24 hours! They are soft and not too heavy. Great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe with cinnamon and vanilla instead of nutmeg and lemon zest. turned out wonderful. I also add a 1/2 cup coconut to it and they taste great with the add ingredient. I love this recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe Barb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
i recomend using lemon extract not lemon zest. They come out flat and only cook them for about 10 minutes. They have a very unpleasent after taste. From the lemon zest you can see the chunks of it in the cookie also so that makes it look unapitizing....... my overall reaveiw is that is taste like medicine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I thought these tasted great but they did spread & came out looking like normal, flat cookies. Unfortunately, I had picked these because of the picture which shows nice puffy, mound cookies, so that was a little disappointing.UPDATE ONE DAY LATER: Changing a 4 star rating to a 2 star because, once completely cooled these are a mess! They're so soft, you can't pick them up & they have a TERRIBLE aftertaste-which I'm sure is the baking soda. My gut told me to decrease the baking soda but I figured, with the good reviews & no one else mentioning the excessive measurement, it must be ok. But it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
pros: quick recipe, nice batter, look good when baked. cons: these cookies taste like bland yellow cake, which is disappointing because I thought that the lemon and nutmeg would add an interesting zip! These cookies also gave me heartburn and sat like rocks in my chest/stomach. And I don't usually have any problems with eating! I would not recommend this recipe to a friend. I would also rather try a more complicated cookie recipe than make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Had to add extra flour dough was super sticky. Even adding at least another half cup of flour the dough was too sticky to make into balls as other reviews had said. taste okay I added a little vanilla and almond extracts along with the zest and nutmeg. Sprinkled sugar on top. Kids liked them. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe makes a very cake like cookie. Be careful to take out when the tops are just beginning to lose their glisten. Made 24 2-1/2 inch round cookies when using heaping teaspoon full of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
These easy-to-prepare cookies were a delight to find here on AllRecipes! Very good tasting; a nice variation on the sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States