Dixie Stomp Cream of Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This soup is EXTREMELY salty tasting and there is no extra salt in the recipe. The taste is exceptionally terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
Was not impressed it sounded good on paper but didn't turn out that way. Not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I really liked this recipe. It reminds me of the soup they serve at the Dixie Stampede in Branson, MO. I added extra veggies, especially extra asparagus. My 5 kids thought the recipe okay, it varied from "amazing" (my 14 yr old boy) to "mediocre" (my 7 yr old girl). It kept well in the fridge and I thought it heated up just as good. I only had cream of chicken soup and used butter instead of margarine. I would definitely make this one again. Adding shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top of the bowls is a real flavor booster. Serve this with warm bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Best soup recipe I have found in a long time. Very easy and while eating it felt I was in Ireland again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I really like this soup, it's not visually appealing, just in case you're taking it to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Excellent soup, I did add a dash of salt to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I've really enjoyed this recipe. Although I don't care for the puree version. I personally choose to use frozen asparagus and carrots, finely chopped, as well as canned potatoes (saves time). I sautee my onion in a little butter and add to the mix as stated. I do not puree due to the disturbing appearance even though it tastes fine. I also used half / half instead of cream and added potato flakes to thicken. Great recipe, always enjoyed it at The Dixie Stampede in Branson, MO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Just returned from Ireland and was looking for a creamy vegetable soup like the many I ate there. This one was perfect in every way. I only used 2 cups of cream instead of 3 but otherwise followed the recipe. It is delicious and I think it is lovely to look at as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I didn't follow this recipe exactly, since I was trying to use up a bunch of things I had on hand, but I made something similar and I would say this is a good base that would work with lots of variations. The creamy texture along with the veggie flavor works well. For the record, I made my recipe with the following that I had leftover: instead of a can of asparagus: about 7 stalks of cooked asparagus (from Roasted Asparagus with Balsamic Vinegar from this site); instead of plain chopped carrots: some cooked baby carrots with a brown sugar butter sauce; instead of chicken and rice soup: about 1/2 cup of leftover parmesan rice a roni and a can of Marie Callendar's chicken pot pie soup; instead of chopped potatoes: half a 1 1/2 quart casserole dish of a potato casserole made with potatoes, alfredo sauce, broccoli, onion, garlic powder, and monterey jack cheese. I also chopped up some extra onion and broccoli. I threw all this into a pot with the spices and chicken broth as recommended and boiled for 10 minutes or so (since the veggies were already cooked). Then I pureed it and poured it back in the pan and added some half and half (I didn't measure it - I just looked for the right consistency - probably about 1-2 cups) and more pepper. I can't believe this puree of leftovers was actually so creamy and tasty! Thanks, Micheal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Wonderful soup, we serve it several times every winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States