Dixie Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was very good, my family really enjoyed it and it was very easy. You may have to alter time depending on the thickness of the pork chops. I did mine for 45 minutes for 3 chops @ 1" inch and it was very good and not dry at all. I have to say for having brown sugar in it - it is not super sweet, nice flavor when mixed with the juice from apples and pork. A keeper - Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Love it! This is a great company entree. The only change I would make is to change the oven cooking time to 45 minutes in lieu of 1 hour. My chops were thick but were borderline overdone. I used the large mixed variety raisins and they plumped up really nice. Very attractive presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This recipe turned out great! I had to alter the pork cooking time to about a minute on each side and baking time to 30 minutes since I had thin cut pork chops, and the entire dish still came out beautifully. I also used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These pork chops turned out amazingly! Very tender and juicy. The only change I made was to take out some of the fat drippings and add a little olive oil to the rue. I also used white rasins since I think they taste a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
A unique, and very flavorful change to pork chops. Raisins and apple combined with sweet sauce is absolutely fantastic. Following directions, I think the meat was a little overdone. A meat thermometer probably would have been a good idea - then they would have been 5+. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was so easy and so beautiful when I pulled it out of the oven. I will definately make this again and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Fantastic. I only had two pork chops which is unfortunate because I wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was fast and easy to make. The pork was so tender and flavorful. I will definitely prepare these for company sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe was great but I made it a bit differently than directed. I browned the chops in an electric skillet, removed them to make the gravy, and then put them back in with the apples and raisins to braise (covered). One less pan to clean that way. Also, I think the directions missed what do do with the salt and sage. I ended up seasoning the chops with salt, pepper and sage to taste. I think apple juice or cider would also be a good substitution for the water and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I enjoyed them. but I didn't feel like there was enough sauce. and I too ended up just seasoning to taste. All in all very interesting I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States