Dixie Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Oh My, this was the best dinner I've had in a year! I made it exactly as directed except for adding a sprinkle of cinnamon. Wow! I did use cranberries and the house smelled great, and dinner was a HUGE hit. I can't wait to make it again and invite guests. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I enjoyed them. but I didn't feel like there was enough sauce. and I too ended up just seasoning to taste. All in all very interesting I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe was great but I made it a bit differently than directed. I browned the chops in an electric skillet, removed them to make the gravy, and then put them back in with the apples and raisins to braise (covered). One less pan to clean that way. Also, I think the directions missed what do do with the salt and sage. I ended up seasoning the chops with salt, pepper and sage to taste. I think apple juice or cider would also be a good substitution for the water and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was fast and easy to make. The pork was so tender and flavorful. I will definitely prepare these for company sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I marinated the pork chops in garlic salt, followed the recipe and added some of the reviewer suggestion of cinnamon. Delicious. Husband loved it. I brought it to work and coworker asked for recipe. Another coworker said she didn't want to eat anything else as she wanted the flavors of the pork chops to stay in her mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I did the recipe with 2 pork chops so my cooking time was drastically reduced as well. I LOVED how well the apples and raisins stayed on the pork chops after cooking. Made a beautiful presentation. Will definately make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was very good. I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on the apples, and because my pork chops were thin, I only baked them for 40 minutes. It was quite tasty. The sauce was good over rice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! I didn't alter the recipe one bit and my family 'ate it all up'! Definitely, definitely will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These were some of the most tender pork chops I've ever had. I love that they braise in the gravy, which comes out perfectly after everything's done. I like my chops on the herby side, and didn't have sage, so I added a sprinkling of dried thyme and rosemary, and per another reviewer's suggestion, dusted the chops with cinnamon, too. Oh, and I didn't have raisins, so I substituted dried cranberries. They turned out wonderfully! On the next go-round, I'm definitely going to try them with sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Cupertino, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
As my husband loaths raisens, I decided to omit them and use walnuts instead. The outcome was almost succesful, we realized that a spice was lacking, as I did not use any. It was decided that cinn. was the appropriate spice to add to the sauce. Very good. Chops were nice and tender. This one goes into the monthly rotation. *As a note, tried it again with the modifications and decided it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States