Dixie Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is very good and I made only minor changes...Firstly, it never mentions in the instructions where to use the salt, pepper or sage (I assumed you were to season the chops before searing?) Secondly, I doubled the amount of sauce which worked perfectly. When making the sauce I added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1/8 tsp sage to the flour before mixing with the drippings. This made a very nice sauce once cooked. Certainly a recipe I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was an excellent dish, easy for a weeknight dinner and nice enough for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I've made these several times now, and they are always a hit! I use dried cranberries - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
In all honesty, I changed this recipe so much that I probably shouldn't even be reviewing it; but here is what I did. First I dried my chops (they sear much better this way) and salt and peppered each side. Once they were seared off, I removed them from the pan and added 2 sliced, peeled apples, 1/2 large sliced onion, salt, pepper, 1/4 tsp each dried savory and allspice and 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and ginger. Lastly, I added the zest of about 1/2 large orange. Once the apple onion mixture was soft, I transferred to the baking dish which contained my chops and I added 1/4 brown sugar. Then I deglazed the pan with 1 cup of chicken broth. I thickened the sauce with flour and poured that over the chops/onions. I baked the dish covered at 350 for 45 minutes and the end result was delish! It was a little sweet for our taste, so next time I will reduce the amount of brown sugar, but apart from that, I wouldn't change a thing! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I am still drooling just thinking about this dish. I LOVED it. I did not add any spice or seasoning...no cinnomon, sage, or salt. The only thing I did different was to use apple juice in place of the water. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was the absolute best recipe I've ever gotten from this site, and I've had some pretty darn good recipes! My sister tried it first and told me I just had to try it for myself and I am so glad I did. It was so good that I wished I had made enough for seconds and I NEVER eat seconds! I can't wait to make it again. The only thing I did differently is I used Thyme instead of Sage (I added it to the gravy/sauce since the recipe doesn't mention what to do with it) and I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples and brown sugar. Yummie! Thanks for a fabulous recipe that I will be making every week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I substituted a can of chicken broth for the water and dried cranberries for the raisins since I felt they would add more flavor. The recipe is very easy to prepare and certainly tastes okay, but it lacks oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montrealfoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
this was a great recipe. Note to chef- the sauce looks like glue and smells like glue. dont worry though, it is amazing once it is baked. I only had pork tenderloin and it was TENDER. leftovers arent the best but there probably wont be leftovers if you make it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I was trying to find something different to do with pork chops. This was the first recipe that I came across where I had all the ingredients. My husband loved it. In fact, he's already planning as to when I could make it again. I didn't use the sage, but did use seasoned salt when I browned the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
These were terrific! A great change from boring everyday pork chops. I seasoned my chops with adobo (an all purpose carribean seasoning) before frying. I added the cinnamon as suggested with the brown sugar and added the salt and sage to the sauce. Very, very, very good. Served to my husband after a three week military trip and he thoroughly enjoyed his welcome home meal! Even the kids ate it (although they picked out the raisins ;-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States