Dixie Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
After reading reviews here, I decided to give this a try. I used cider vinegar instead of white, but something was still off with the roux. The chops were flavorful & tender, but I think next time I will use more sage & salt (which the recipe doesn't note how to use) on the chops while browning as well as added to the roux with the flour. I used a combination of dried cherries, golden raisins, and craisins - they were SO GOOD. Probably a favorite element of this dish. I'll make it again and see if I can get the roux to be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Great alternative for boneless pork chops instead of the good old sauerkraut and pork chops. I left the raisins out the second time and it didn't change the flavor too much. The apples came out perfect, almost like comfort food meets refreshing. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very good. Used cranberries. The roux was really thick and a little clumpy. I won't let it cook as long next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
THIS RECIPE NOT ONLY TASTED DELICIOUS!! IT WAS VERY QUICK AND EASY TO PREPARE. I ALSO THINK IT WOULD BE A VERY IMPRESSIVE MEAL FOR ENTERTAINING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly. Since it didn't say what to do with the sage, I dusted it on the chops after I browned them in the pan and put them in the baking dish. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICECHICKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe several times now, and it's such a guaranteed winner that I save it for special nights. The recipe does not say what to do with the sage; I just add it to the flour when making the gravy. Also, instead of plain raisins I use a mixture of raisins, golden raisins, and dried cranberries. Definitely give this one a try--it gets better each time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Looking for some quick, easy pork chop recipes to clean out the freezer and came upon this one. Simple yet very tasty. I made it with dried cranberries instead of raisins. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was so yummy. I only changed a few things, I didn't use oil, I used Pam so there were no drippings in the pan, I used a splash of sherry to deglaze the pan and instead of water I used apple juice and apple cider vinegar. I used really thin pork chops so it was only in the oven 40 minutes. Next time I make this I will use a pork loin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is one of my new favorites. I forgot to put in the sage and I'm not a fan of raisins, so I used dried cranberries instead. It was fantastic. The chops I used were thinner, so I took them out of the oven when done and finished the sauce on the stove. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is very good and I made only minor changes...Firstly, it never mentions in the instructions where to use the salt, pepper or sage (I assumed you were to season the chops before searing?) Secondly, I doubled the amount of sauce which worked perfectly. When making the sauce I added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1/8 tsp sage to the flour before mixing with the drippings. This made a very nice sauce once cooked. Certainly a recipe I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States