Dixie Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good, I used cider vinegar and added chicken broth, not water. was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Simple, easy, everybody ate their portion. I usually reserve 5 stars for a dish that REALLY impresses me. This didn't, but it's a good solid meal and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very good. I've made a variation of this recipe before and suggest for slightly different (but definitely not overpowering) flavor, add some cloves to the flour mixture and bake for 45 minutes or hour depending on how thick your pork chops are. Use about a half a teaspoon or more depending on how much flavor you want or how big the chops are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
An update from the submitter: Sprinkle the salt and sage on the browned pork before laying in the baking dish. Making this for supper tonight and just wanted to update the recipe for those that had asked what to do with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and everyone loved it. Simply delicious pork chops that go well with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Strawalker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good sauce, chops and dried fruit. I was a bit disappointed that my apples came out mushy...I was hoping for a bit more crispiness...however it might have been the TYPE of apples I used (Macintosh). The flavor, however, was divine. I used apple cider vinegar and a mix of cranberries and raisins. I did not use the sage...the recipe doesn't direct you to add so I mistakenly passes that step. However, I don't think I will add it next time, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
We made this for a special family dinner and it turned out beautifully. As always a meat thermometer and evenly spaced meat in the baking pan ensured the texture of the pork came out dinner-knife tender. What surprised me most was that the apple ended up baked but not mushy at all, which brought a refreshing crispiness to the dish. We added about 1/2 cup of the same wine we were having with dinner to the sauce, as well as generous sprinkling of fresh rosemary over the pork. We will definitely be preparing our pork chops this way again and again with slight variations (different fruits, wines).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipe was absolutely fabulous!! My family LOVED it!!! I got tired of cooking and eating the same foods all the time, so I wanted something different, and this recipe was PERFECT!! I added cinnamon and nutmeg to taste and vanilla extract to the raisin sauce. Deelish!!! Heidi, thank you!!! Although, you are from P.A., I'm from Ohio, but with the name Dixie Pork Chops, I thought it was a Southern dish, until now. Anyways, in my home this recipe has became know as, "Yankee Doodle Meets Dixie Pork Chops". LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
My husband doesnt care for raisins, but he ate them and even liked them. The kids ate the apples first, but all agreeded this was a very good dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Awesome!! I pounded my chops out to about 1/4 inch. I put the salt and sage on the chops before I cooked them. I don't think the recipe tells you when to do that. And since I trimmed my chops of fat I had to put more oil in for the rue. My family loved this and it is now a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ersula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States