Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
The definative Divinity recipe. I couldn't find my great grandmothers and this worked out great! Mad it on a rainy day in Washington state!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I think this recipe needs some detail instructions for first timers. Cook the sugar mixture briskly, unstirred and undisturbed, for 10-15 minutes, until the temperature reached 255 degrees on a candy thermometer, or a drop of the mixture in cold water forms a firm almost brittle ball. I found the 10-15 minutes, was just as important as the temperature. Next, beat the second mixture for another 10 minutes or so (very important time), loses its gloss and is firm enough to hold its shape in a spoon. Stir in the nuts at once. Great taste and texture. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
387 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Specht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. If you are in a hurry do not make divinity. You can not rush Great candy. I never made divinity before, but everyone loves it here in Alabama. First time making it and it turned out PERFECT. Everyone said Divinity is Very Hard to make. It was easy for me hehe. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the Wonderful recipe. It made great Christmas Presents. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I have never made divinity before. I was always a little hestitate because it sounded hard. This was the easiest candy recipe to make. Its flavor is just as advertised "divine". Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I've tried several divinity recipes, and none of them have worked out. This one came out PERFECT! I live in MS, so humidity could have played a factor in the others. This divinity was very delicious, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Yum! Just like my granny made! This is fairly hard to do. Make sure you beat the final mixture long enough to prevent spreading on the wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
very good recipe. I made three batches. the first bach I followed the recipe, the second batch I used chocolate extract and almonds instead of vanilla and walnuts, and the third batch I used coconut and pecans. They all turned out yummy. You better have a real sweet tooth to eat this candy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Easy to make and smooth to the pallate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was just too easy, and so very good! My in-laws were so impressed with my candy-making skills - little did they know the hardest part of this recipe is watching your mixer work. Don't even try this if you don't have a candy thermometer, or if you don't have a patience to beat egg whites to stiff peaks... but if you've got the thermometer and the time, you'll be richly rewarded with a beautiful candy. Add red or green food coloring for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
thanx for the humidity tip. i make several candies often including fudge but evrey time i tried to make divinity it never set because i am in a constantly humid area. the recipe works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States