Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I think this recipe needs some detail instructions for first timers. Cook the sugar mixture briskly, unstirred and undisturbed, for 10-15 minutes, until the temperature reached 255 degrees on a candy thermometer, or a drop of the mixture in cold water forms a firm almost brittle ball. I found the 10-15 minutes, was just as important as the temperature. Next, beat the second mixture for another 10 minutes or so (very important time), loses its gloss and is firm enough to hold its shape in a spoon. Stir in the nuts at once. Great taste and texture. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Specht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I've tried a dozen divinity recipes including this one & they all turned out like Polar Bear vomit! Had to resort to asking someone back home in the deep South who actually knows how to make it. The golden key is the temperature...THREE HUNDRED DEGREES!!! I don't know how anyone makes divinity by stopping the cooking at the "mostly prescribed temperatures" of 235, 250, 255, 260 & so forth. If you've never been able to make divinity, join the club but try one more time & cook the sucker to 300 degrees. I think you'll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Even if you follow the recipe exactly and don't make it on a rainy or humid day, you have to accept that sometimes it won't work. That is just the nature of making divinity and has nothing to do with the recipe. That's just something you have to be aware of before you take on ANY divinity recipe. If you don't accept that fact...make something else. You have to be a good sport when attempting a divinity recipe! That being said... I love this recipe!!!! I like chocolate chips rather than nuts in it....although just plain is wonderful as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
The divinity turned out great! My first attempt at candy, too. This is the same recipe as the one in my Betty Crocker cookbook. I used one cup of pecans and one T less water, b/c it is always humid where I live. I didn't have a candy thermometer, so I used the cold water/soft ball test. When I dropped it in the water, it formed a rope on the bottom of the glass that I was able to form into a squeezable ball. The syrup was also about to turn color. Don't be in a hurry when you are making this candy. It takes time, be patient and you will be rewarded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
First rule of divinity: don't try making it when it's raining or the humidity is high...even the best recipe will fail. I've not tried the "humidity version" with a tablespoon less water; so beware if you're attempting it. This is an excellent recipe! I use a cup of pecans instead of walnuts. Also, I don't use a candy thermometer, just test a bit of the syrup in ice water; if you can gather it up and it forms a hard ball that you can "hear" when you drop it on the counter, it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
This is a good recipe. My first attempt at Divinity. I was always afraid to try. Made it today with my 10-year-old granddaughter. I couldn't call it really easy because it does require close attention to the directions. If you beat it too long after adding all the hot syrup and the vanilla, it may become a very sticky, gooey mess (as noted in reviews of other Divinity recipes here). I got mine into the pan in time, but what remained in the bowl couldn't be budged without hot water. I'm just guessing that if I had beat it much longer and it had cooled any more, it would have been very difficult to get into a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The first review, by TXLadyBug, was spot on. I followed the recipe as given by Kimberly, but I removed the syrup from the heat at 255 to prevent it from overheating. I used an old trick from my coffee-slinging days to make sure the syrup poured in a slow, thin stream. Hold a tablespoon, concave side facing the eggwhites at about a 45 degree angle, and pour the syrup over the back. This helps regulate the flow and makes it much easier to keep the syrup from accidentally pouring on the mixer. It is really important to pour the syrup in as thin a stream as possible to achieve a smooth, fluffy texture. I also recommend stopping after about 8 minutes of mixing to scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl. My heavy-duty mixer does not incorporate these areas well and after scraping them, I needed to mix for about 8 more minutes. I would also like to note the humidity at the time, which was 20%. I have watched my grandmother make divinity every Christmas since I was a toddler, and helped her to make it when I was older, but had never made it myself. Sadly, this year will be my last Christmas with my grammy and she was sad that she is too ill to make the divinity, so I made it for her. She pronounced it exquisite and accused me of stealing her recipe :-) Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I tried your recipe last night and it turned out great! I had no problem with it setting up and getting the right firmness. It tastes great also. It was the first time that I had ever attempted to make divinity, I had always heard that it was very difficult, but your recipe worked great for me. Thanks, and have a Merry Christmas !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
The definative Divinity recipe. I couldn't find my great grandmothers and this worked out great! Mad it on a rainy day in Washington state!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Fabulous recipe. As always, with divinity, check with weather, and you can't overblend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States