Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I have never made divinity before. I was always a little hestitate because it sounded hard. This was the easiest candy recipe to make. Its flavor is just as advertised "divine". Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I think mixer motor started burning out so I couldn't mix it as long as I should have. It turned out more like taffy, but tastes good. Divinity isn't easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
The definative Divinity recipe. I couldn't find my great grandmothers and this worked out great! Mad it on a rainy day in Washington state!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
My husband liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I tried your recipe last night and it turned out great! I had no problem with it setting up and getting the right firmness. It tastes great also. It was the first time that I had ever attempted to make divinity, I had always heard that it was very difficult, but your recipe worked great for me. Thanks, and have a Merry Christmas !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I've tried a dozen divinity recipes including this one & they all turned out like Polar Bear vomit! Had to resort to asking someone back home in the deep South who actually knows how to make it. The golden key is the temperature...THREE HUNDRED DEGREES!!! I don't know how anyone makes divinity by stopping the cooking at the "mostly prescribed temperatures" of 235, 250, 255, 260 & so forth. If you've never been able to make divinity, join the club but try one more time & cook the sucker to 300 degrees. I think you'll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
This is a good recipe. My first attempt at Divinity. I was always afraid to try. Made it today with my 10-year-old granddaughter. I couldn't call it really easy because it does require close attention to the directions. If you beat it too long after adding all the hot syrup and the vanilla, it may become a very sticky, gooey mess (as noted in reviews of other Divinity recipes here). I got mine into the pan in time, but what remained in the bowl couldn't be budged without hot water. I'm just guessing that if I had beat it much longer and it had cooled any more, it would have been very difficult to get into a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I've tried several divinity recipes, and none of them have worked out. This one came out PERFECT! I live in MS, so humidity could have played a factor in the others. This divinity was very delicious, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Yum! Just like my granny made! This is fairly hard to do. Make sure you beat the final mixture long enough to prevent spreading on the wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
very good recipe. I made three batches. the first bach I followed the recipe, the second batch I used chocolate extract and almonds instead of vanilla and walnuts, and the third batch I used coconut and pecans. They all turned out yummy. You better have a real sweet tooth to eat this candy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States