Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I agree with MARKWPATTERSON...tried twice now and it does not turn out like I expected." I'm trying to freeze it a bit as I type to see if chilling it will work out in some way that will at least make it edible as long as it doesn't get to warm and turn soft again. Guess, I should of read the reviews or did as MARKWPATTERSON did and call my grandmother (married to my grandfather from the deep south whom the recipe I remembered came from!!) Sorry, I just really wanted to make something around the holidays that reminded me of Xmas from my childhood and this hasn't turned out at all. As others said this is hard to cook. Believe me, it certainly is more than difficult to cook and I followed directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have tried this recipe 3 times and all failed. I am a great cook but could not get this to be more than an oozy mess no matter what I tried! I even beat it for 30 min. with a kitchen aid mixer! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I tried this 4 times and it never worked right. There was no humidity. I can normally make anything and I spend an enormous amount of time cooking and baking. I cannot figure out exactly where I went wrong but I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Excellent! Just like Mama used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I love this recipe! Be sure not to stir the sugar mixture and don't overcook it! It's delicious stuff though. Oh, another note: Mine didn't have to sit for 12 hours. Mine were dry in about 1-2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLLYGREEN23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Sooooooooooooo yummy. I did use different nuts in each batch to give it variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe. I was a little nervous about mixing this in my stand mixer, but it came out wonderful. It beats having one arm stronger than the other. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMBILALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Troy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is the exact recipe I have had in my recipe box from my grandmother for 30 years. Its simple, but not easy. Awesome recipe, but I always had trouble in humid weather. I'll try the reduced water amt to see- fingers crossed! Just an idea, we always make a batch of pink (sm amt of red food color)and a batch of white. Pink always tastes better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Excellent, delicious recipe IF you use a candy thermometer and a standing Kitchenaid type mixer. NEVER try this on a damp/humid day. Follow the directions exactly and WAIT (long time) until the final mixture looks very different (drier, thicker, no shine) and seems to strain the motor of your mixer. Be patient. If you do exactly what the directions say, you will be thrilled with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was an easy recipe to follow. Everything turned out fine, but it didn't blow anyone away-maybe not divinity fans to begin with..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States