Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I had, key word HAD, an upright mixer. After 15 min of beating and still glossy look on the candy, the motor on my mixer burned up. The candy works like taffy when trying to get it out of the bowl and formed. I finally let it cool some more and tried to form into balls with my buttered fingers. It held shape for about 2 minutes and then spread out like a little white cow pod. The only reason I gave this a three is because you could still eat it and the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I haven't tasted it yet, but the fact that it actually set up and wasn't a mushy mess is a first for me. I have NEVER had success making divinity until now. Great recipe. It is time consuming though and I'm glad I have a kicthen aid mixer, I can't imagine doing this with a small hand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is my first time making this recipe and it turned out great! I beat the egg whites for a really long time (while I waited for the sugar mixture to hit 260 degrees) and then added the sugar when it finally hit the right "stage". I was surprised at how long I had to beat the two together. I stood and watched my stand mixer, 5 minutes went by, 10 minutes, 12 minutes and then finally right around the 15 minute mark it started to set. Next time I'll probably just put it into a wax paper lined baking pan vs. spooning it out. My grandmother used to do it that way and I think its a bit easier than spooning it. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
wow i did it i have tried to make divinity before and it never set this time it did i just kept mixing it with my mixer and it worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This sounds almost like my Moms recipe except I believe she used pecans. Anyway, weather is important. I think you need cooler, dry weather which is rare here in Florida. lol Even the "failed" batches were yummy to eat. My brother and I would grab a spoon and enjoy the treat. Oh I would love some divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
All I can say is....perfection! I have not made divinity in years and I have had success and no success. With this recipe...it was fantastic. You definitely have to have a candy thermometer to get the exact hard ball stage. This will be the only divinity recipe that I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made this for Christmas goody gifts this past year and everyone loved it. I live in a very humid area and usually divinity doesn't quite work - but this one did. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is the classic divinity recipe I was looking for. Excellent texture-great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe has taught me to read the reviews and to dig through my old tried and true recipes. The weather was great out, low humidity, even held off making this a few days because of humidity but it did not hold shape, and looked like round sand dollars. Again I will make sure to read reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States