Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I had never made divinity and was quite intimidated from what you hear from others. I loved this recipe. I heated the mixture on the stove with my candy thermometer. The only way possible for a beginner. I beat my egg whites while it was cooking so they would be ready. Then I watched my thermometer and followed the directions. I was worried when it didn't start to hold its shape right away. It seemed like it took 5 minutes for it to become stiff. Once it does move the drops quickly to the waxed paper. The first ones looked much nicer than the last ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was my first time making this or any type of candy, so I was reluntant. My husband asked for me to make some, so here it goes. I used a digital cooking thermometer because could not find a candy thermometer, mine would not quite reach 260, so I just did the hard ball test from that point. It was fairly easy for a first timer but had to pay attention to the recipe. It was very tacky at first and still tacky for the next 7 or so hours so I just knew I had messed it up. I turned it over at about 10 hours and finally it was becoming devinity. Mine took well over 12 hours to set. It taste great. My husband liked it, bagged some up for gifts. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
It's raining and this recipe worked for me. I've always been told "you can't make divinity on a rainy day, it won't work". Here is what I did to compensate. I took about 3-4 tablespoons from the 1/2 cup water and I cooked the sugar mixture to 275 degrees. Everything else was by the recipe. "Just like grandma used to make!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Beall Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this for my family and a dozon other guests a few days before Christmas and ait came out beautifully! I recomend this to anyone! just make sure you that the eggs formed before it reaches hardball stage. Also, if the humidity is high make sure you take out the tablespoon of water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is my first success at divinity, but it might be more due to sheer perseverance! :) I was determined to have the correct consistency before I attempted to drop the candies, but it took about an hour and 10 minutes with my hand mixer to get it there. I don't know if that is the normal time this recipe takes, but if it is... I'm not sure I'll be making it many more times. If anyone has tips or hints about how to make this happen faster, I would love to hear them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe was amazingly easy. This was the first time I have attempted Divinity, only because I have always been told how difficult it is to make. This recipe is a keeper. Divinity turned out perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnettemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made this the first time & presto perfect divinity, even my grandmothers were amazed because they can't make divinity!!!! Absolutely love it & anybody can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jena, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This recipe is "Da Bomb"! I will make this one every Christmas from now on. I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception, and it came out great the first time. I wanted mine to be like the See's Candies Divinity Puffs, so I rolled mine in a little chopped coconut when they were setting. I have one tip: if you want to have your pieces look like little round balls, let the mixture set about 20 minutes after it's all mixed...I tried rolling them at first, and they kept flattening out because of still being warm. Altogether it took me 2 1/2 hours to make these. It takes about 45 minutes alone for the sugar to dissolve on low, so be ready to stand and stir for awhile. But the time spent is so well worth it. These are absolutely Heavenly. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My mother LOVED Divinity. She has been gone 14 years now, and I wanted to do something for my family in celebration of her for the holidays this year. Let me begin by saying that there should be a law, forbidding people like me from ever entering a kitchen to prepare food. I am a complete disaster, and I'm leaving it at that. I tried this recipe, EXPECTING TO FAIL. Sorry...I am VERY self-confident in every aspect of my life....but not cooking/baking. I will keep it simple. I MADE DIVINITY!!! It worked PERFECTLY for me. Everyone in my family loved it, and I know if my mother had been here she would have loved it too. I made it EXACTLY as the directions said....and it came out perfectly. I didn't 48, according to what this recipe said the yield would be...but I ended up with 12 BIG HONKIN' DELICIOUS PIECES of Divinity. I will worry about portion sizes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wise, Virginia, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
As everyone in the humid South knows, you should NEVER attempt divinity in the rain. Well, let me tell you, I live in Alabama and I just made this recipe during a tropical storm with my French doors wide open...It turned out GREAT!! Amazing! I followed the directions exactly, except that I was not sure my thermometer was calibrated exactly right so I also used the ice water (hard ball) technique because it seemed like it was getting very close to the correct temp when my thermometer hit about 255. I stopped at 255, and it turned out just fine. For the person who said they burned up their mixer, you can avoid that by mixing well to the point were it starts cooling and thickening up, and finishing by mixing with a spoon. The whole point is to get it to cool down, and that is done by mixing it with air. Perfect recipe. I'll be using it again and again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States