Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Oh my gosh! This is amazing. I didn't even know what Divinity was until today. I decided to make it because it seemed challenging. It was also one of my grandmother's favorite candies. I followed the directions to the T. It came out perfect! My first spoonful looks so beautiful, almost like a smooth meringue! The other ones look a little more lumpy and sticky... I moved too slow. I can't express how excited I am that this came out right on my first try! Not to mention... it's super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I had never made divinty before so I was worried when it stayed sticky for so long that I may have not gotten it hot enough or too much moisture. I let it dry on trays with a light cover over the pans for 3 days and it is a huge hit. So, I may have had it too gooey at first, but the wait was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I'm so impressed, they were PERFECT & on my 1st try! I was very nervous to make these, bc I can remember my mom attempting to make it several times as a kid & how angry she would be as we sat & ate the very delicious goo blobs that were her inevitable result - but this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is the same recipe my mom used to make growing up and now I've been making it for the past 5 years. Hint: as with most candy, notice the luster. When divinity starts losing it's luster and your electric mixer seems to be struggling go around the bowl- then it's time to drop. Prepare to beat awhile but be assured it's worth it. Also, I go to 265 and at about 240 is when I leave the syrup and start beating the whites, so they're ready when the syrup is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casidee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Five stars for sure and then some. Me oh my this is good candy! Followed directions exactly EXCEPT: I added the vanilla extract to egg whites before beating and it made the process go very smoothly and quickly. With my standing mixture this took only around 25 minutes to make including clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I waitied too long before I started spooning out the mix and it looked okay for the first few but most of them ended up looking like ricotta! On a good note, I used BLACK walnuts that I picked this fall, and the flavor was amazing! This HAS to be one of the best recipes for showcaseing the black walnut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
First time I made it, it didn't turn out because I wasn't paying close attention to it. The second time it turned out perfect, and went over really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I grew up with a mom that made this every christmas for all the teachers. Our kitchen would be covered in it. She would sometimes add a little coloring, or shaved peppermint. But, my favorite was putting chocolate kisses on the pan and drop the divinity on the chocolate. Of course, we would eat those warm too. Oh so good and what wonderful memories she made for all of us. She made 100's of batches over the years and never had one bad one. She just had the touch, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I had never made divinity and was quite intimidated from what you hear from others. I loved this recipe. I heated the mixture on the stove with my candy thermometer. The only way possible for a beginner. I beat my egg whites while it was cooking so they would be ready. Then I watched my thermometer and followed the directions. I was worried when it didn't start to hold its shape right away. It seemed like it took 5 minutes for it to become stiff. Once it does move the drops quickly to the waxed paper. The first ones looked much nicer than the last ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was my first time making this or any type of candy, so I was reluntant. My husband asked for me to make some, so here it goes. I used a digital cooking thermometer because could not find a candy thermometer, mine would not quite reach 260, so I just did the hard ball test from that point. It was fairly easy for a first timer but had to pay attention to the recipe. It was very tacky at first and still tacky for the next 7 or so hours so I just knew I had messed it up. I turned it over at about 10 hours and finally it was becoming devinity. Mine took well over 12 hours to set. It taste great. My husband liked it, bagged some up for gifts. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States