Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The taste is delicious but it can be hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Mine turned out like taffy. Way too gummy and hard. Anyone tell me what I did wrong? Followed recipe exactly except that I went a little over the temperature. I used a stand mixer with a balloon whisk. Did I beat the mixture too long, or maybe the egg whites too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The first review, by TXLadyBug, was spot on. I followed the recipe as given by Kimberly, but I removed the syrup from the heat at 255 to prevent it from overheating. I used an old trick from my coffee-slinging days to make sure the syrup poured in a slow, thin stream. Hold a tablespoon, concave side facing the eggwhites at about a 45 degree angle, and pour the syrup over the back. This helps regulate the flow and makes it much easier to keep the syrup from accidentally pouring on the mixer. It is really important to pour the syrup in as thin a stream as possible to achieve a smooth, fluffy texture. I also recommend stopping after about 8 minutes of mixing to scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl. My heavy-duty mixer does not incorporate these areas well and after scraping them, I needed to mix for about 8 more minutes. I would also like to note the humidity at the time, which was 20%. I have watched my grandmother make divinity every Christmas since I was a toddler, and helped her to make it when I was older, but had never made it myself. Sadly, this year will be my last Christmas with my grammy and she was sad that she is too ill to make the divinity, so I made it for her. She pronounced it exquisite and accused me of stealing her recipe :-) Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I thought I had ruined this but am so glad I waited it out, because a day later it's divine. Amazing it came out right because my candy thermometer doesn't seem to work... I never really got it up over 240 but it had cooked for about 20 minutes at that point and it was getting yellowish, so I just used the "drop some into cold water" method, which I am not expert at. It "seemed" like it was at the right stage, so I went ahead with recipe. Beat it forever in stand mixer but it never got very dull, went ahead and dropped some on waxed paper (very sticky), but that was difficult so I ended up greasing a square cake pan and pouring the rest in there (my Grandma's divinity was always cut little squares, not drops). It was sooo sticky for the first 12+ hours, I thought it was ruined. The stuff on the waxed paper never looked right. On a whim I cut a square out of the cake pan, and voila... perfect Divinity!! Glad I didn't try to "fix" it yesterday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My husband requested divinity and this recipe hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Awesome! This was my first time making divinity, and after hearing how finicky the recipe can be I was a bit worried. But it turned out just right! I used the hard ball method to gage the temperature, and I beat the egg whites for about 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My first attempt - and it was completely edible! The only thing I did wrong was to start whipping my egg whites too early. I went back and read some reviews...if I'd started whipping about 220 degrees or so, it would have been perfect. A tiny stream of syrup is a must. I can see that now. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This turned out wonderful!! I didn't want to add nuts in mine so I added peppermint instead of the vanilla extract and just love it! (my day wasn't humid as that was good, but it wasn't sunny either and it still worked well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I think this is great...I've made it a few times. I have a question though...will food coloring ruin the consistency? I really want to make a red and green batch for the holidays =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
my first time attempting Divinity..I followed directions to the T and it tastes as if the suger did not dissolve. Seems like it cooked forever to reach the desired temp. the consistancy was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States