Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
First time making Divinity and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Messy concoction for someone with OCD like myself. Very sweet, but I think it's supposed to be. My kids loved it. Mine was a soft nougat like candy (kind of reminds me of "zero" bars) We shall see if it gets any harder. Other than that, it's a nice change up from cookies etc. I sprinkled mine with some red & green sugar crystals to be festive :) Also, I used my early Christmas present, a Kitchenaid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Just finished making this recipe and I am optimistic!.. Having failed in the past at divinity, this recipies instructions were pretty easy to follow with the exception of how long to stir the sugar "until disolved" (was aprox. 3 min for me on med/low.). You don't want to keep stirring because it will turn grainy. The last step takes another 10 minutes with the mixer before it loses shine! I take my hat off to candy makers!.. Whew...the timing here is what is tricky... When done it's very thick/sticky and is hard to spread... I quickly put it in a buttered tin (8x8). It helped to use a piece of waxed paper to push it down into the pan... :) I can't wait to taste a piece of this tomorrow since most reviewers suggest it needs that long to set up right! Added walnuts. :) *** For all the mess it made I would double the recipe next time; doesn't make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made it for the first time and it came out great following this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I used this recipe for my first try at making Divinity a few years ago, and I've been making it ever since. This recipe is delicious and very easy to follow. Thank you for sharing it. A couple of tips for newbies, and those who don't have good luck with Divinity: (Divinity can be "moody") Educate yourself on "hard ball stage" cooking, especially if you don't have a candy thermometer. The easiest way to do this is to have a cup of cool water on hand, and then drip a small amount of the mixture into the water- then stick your fingers into the water and roll the sugar between your fingers to form a little ball. If the ball is mushy like taffy, it's not done yet. If the ball is hard and you can't smash it between your fingers- it's at "hard ball stage" and you are ready to pour! The next thing, is to go ahead and make this recipe as if it were humid outside. I've had good luck by removing Two Teaspoons of the water. The most important, is to not give up too soon. Keep mixing it! This takes a while, so pay attention to how the divinity looks- if it's still smooth and shiny, it's not done yet. Keep mixing until it's "fluffy" looking and no longer shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is awesome! This was my first time making divinity and turned out great. I had been told that it was hard to make but I found that it was quite easy. However I did not have to dry it for 12 hours mine only dried for 30 min. I followed the suggestions of others and beat it a ton at the end. This was over all a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beth
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe came out beautifully for me. I was making it for my Grandma's birthday and she loved it. It was light and had an awesome consistency. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Awesome recipe! My first time ever making Divinity and it turned out perfect! My Mom and Aunts say it tastes just like their Mama made for them when they were kids. Thanks for helping bring back sweet memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy_Songbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The taste is delicious but it can be hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Mine turned out like taffy. Way too gummy and hard. Anyone tell me what I did wrong? Followed recipe exactly except that I went a little over the temperature. I used a stand mixer with a balloon whisk. Did I beat the mixture too long, or maybe the egg whites too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States