Divinity Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
These cookies were really easy and created a delicate and tender cookie. Perfect for serving to guests. I bought these in a bakery and wanted to bake them at home and this recipe was just as good as those in the bakery! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Delicious Light Cookie! If you added some almond extract, could also pass as an almond cookie. Very, very good and oh so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These are my favorite cookies ever they are so flavorful and great!!!! I recommend adding a teaspoon of almond extract it makes it FANTASTIC!!!!!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious cookie - and easy! I tweak by using almond extract instead of vanilla, and adding 1-1/2 tsp. cardamom to the flower. It's one of the yummiest cookies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My mom makes divinity every year at Christmas time, and it's always a hit! I was so happy to find this recipe because I'm too scared to make divinity on my own. These cookies are amazing!!! I only made a few changes. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added 1/4 tsp. of salt. I also omitted the nuts (as I dislike nuts in my cookies) And since I didn't have any eggs, (which is a shock since we always have eggs on hand) I added 4 TBS. of Milk. The cookies turned out great! I plan to serve them to my family after lunch. I will definitely make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Arlene, my husband LOVED these! Though, I prefer a little bit sweeter cookie, they were light and easy! I even added a few drops of food coloring and my cookies came out a beautiful PINK! Thanks! ...Cristi White, Phoenix, AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very easy to cook and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
These tasted more similar to "pecan sandies." For those who complained about them not being sweet enough, just roll them around in powdered sugar after baking. It makes the sweetness just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made changes to the recipe because as I was making these, I found I didn't have the ingredients I thought I did! I only had 3/4 cup shortening, so I added 1/4 cup oil. Without cream of tartar, I found that a sub would amount to 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder. I used pecans, not walnuts. If I can still rate this favorably, then I must say, "Delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these, just substituting walnuts with almonds, and they came out really good! I went on reviews and when they were fresh out of the oven I dipped them in a sugar/cinnamon combo and thy turned out great! :) The only issue I had was the baking time... 10-12 minutes was only 1/2 the time. I shared a picture of them, they came out pretty! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States