Divinity Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I was expecting a sweeter taste. It should be butter instead of shortening . They were not "delicate" enough for me, actually the texture was kind of sticky; I felt it was missing something. I had to add extra sugar and cinnamon to compensate that at the end and kind of helped. But I would try a different approach to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva Villarreal Arzaga ?ï?
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these, just substituting walnuts with almonds, and they came out really good! I went on reviews and when they were fresh out of the oven I dipped them in a sugar/cinnamon combo and thy turned out great! :) The only issue I had was the baking time... 10-12 minutes was only 1/2 the time. I shared a picture of them, they came out pretty! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have made thousands of cookies and this was the worst recipe I have ever made. I directly followed the recipe. It needs to be rewritten to state "combine the first 3 ingredients" not "dry ingredients" as sugar is a dry ingredient. The batter was too dry to roll into balls. There needs to be more liquid, perhaps 2 eggs. There was no flavor. One reviewer mentioned "Pecan Sandies". My Mom used to buy them weekly when I was little and they were always the last cookie to be eaten but they were alot better than this recipe. I only baked one dozen (expecting a bad result) and tossed the whole recipe in the trash. Such a huge waste of my time and money, especially after paying $12.25 for a pound of walnuts!! I feel this recipe doesn't deserve any stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My mom makes divinity every year at Christmas time, and it's always a hit! I was so happy to find this recipe because I'm too scared to make divinity on my own. These cookies are amazing!!! I only made a few changes. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added 1/4 tsp. of salt. I also omitted the nuts (as I dislike nuts in my cookies) And since I didn't have any eggs, (which is a shock since we always have eggs on hand) I added 4 TBS. of Milk. The cookies turned out great! I plan to serve them to my family after lunch. I will definitely make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These are my favorite cookies ever they are so flavorful and great!!!! I recommend adding a teaspoon of almond extract it makes it FANTASTIC!!!!!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious cookie - and easy! I tweak by using almond extract instead of vanilla, and adding 1-1/2 tsp. cardamom to the flower. It's one of the yummiest cookies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very easy to cook and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made changes to the recipe because as I was making these, I found I didn't have the ingredients I thought I did! I only had 3/4 cup shortening, so I added 1/4 cup oil. Without cream of tartar, I found that a sub would amount to 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder. I used pecans, not walnuts. If I can still rate this favorably, then I must say, "Delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
They taste like baking soda, I even tried cutting down on it when I made them a second time. Big disappointment for me, I loved these cookie from the bakery near my home as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
These tasted more similar to "pecan sandies." For those who complained about them not being sweet enough, just roll them around in powdered sugar after baking. It makes the sweetness just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States