Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
All seemed perfect, until I poured the vanilla, and wallnuts in, beat it for another 20 minutes, runny as could be, poured it into a 4x8 pan @ 300 degrees for 20 mn, turned oven off and left pan in oven, looked great on the sides, middle was a little mushy looking with a start of a crust on the top. I figured if I left it in the oven with it off it would contintu to bake without burning. WoW how delicious nouget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naenae are you kidding me?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
One suggestion... if it doesn't quite set up it is the PERFECT frosting for angel food cake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Made this divinity and followed the "foolproof' tip by Aunt Nayne, (pouring in 1/2 the syrup & cooking the rest to 290) and it was a flop...more like taffy than divinity. I think cooking the second half of the syrup longer may have been the problem. I will still give the recipe the benefit of the doubt and try to remake it again this weekend following the original recipe exactly and see if it's any better. I've made divinity 10 times with a different result every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Ok. I'm going to post my personal review. I have never made or HEARD of Divinity before today. My boyfriend mentioned that he likes it, but told me it was too hard for me to try making, and that his mother's was the best in the world so not to bother. I took this as a challenge, and found this recipe. And Oh My GOD is this stuff heaven! I'm diabetic, so I can't eat more than a piece or two. Made 2 revisions to this recipe. At the last minute or 2 of mixing, I added about 3/4 cup of finely chopped almonds, and 3-4 drops of red food colouring (to give it a very festive look). Here in a few minutes I'm going to make 2 more batches, one using almond extract, and the other using cherry extract and diced marachino cherries. Awesome recipe! Very easy to make (but for impatient people like me it can be a bit tedious). Thanks for a great addition to my holiday treats!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
What a wonderful big sticky mess! Make sure the bowl you're mixing it in has a handle - I found the bowl a little hard to hold onto since mine didn't. I followed the directions as stated and added in pecans before dropping onto the wax paper to let them set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamakittyto3
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I did make this as stated, and couldn't get it the candy to mix up for anything. So I changed it. 3 cups sugar, 1/2 c. syrup, 1/2 c. water, 3 egg whites, and 1t. vanilla. I cooked the syrup to 270. And I don't have anything but a cheap hand mixer. It firmed up in about 4 minutes, I scooped it all out onto buttered wax paper then cut into squares so I could put them in paper cups. Maybe with a different mixer, as written, it would have worked for me. Maybe not. But the "flop" is working great for hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe was easy and very good. I have never had good luck with divinity, but this one turned out great!! I used a hand mixer and had no problems. Will definately make again. Thank you for sharing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Absolutely wonderful!!! I did use the 2 1/2 cup sugar tip but thats the only change! Its raining lol I used a dehumidififer in the room turned it on for an hour before and keep it going thru whole process! Like a dream! and way easy with a stand mixer (kitchenaide) A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great 'softer" version. With Divinity, it all depends on what you expect the end result to be. Do you like a moist, chewy candy? Or are you looking for a crisp, airy candy? Adding half the sugar mixture to egg whites, then returning the rest to the heat and increasing it's temperature before also adding that does help with the crispness. A big hint also is Don't underbeat divinity.. some may take 15 to 20 minutes or even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this for my niece, who is a new mom, and she thought it was "the bees knees', better than any candy store divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States