Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
talk about a lifesaver.... This is my mother-in-law's recipe almost exactly, which has been a family Christmas tradition since my wife was a child in El Paso (elev 3800 ft) and then in our family since we were married 39 years ago. Just a few years ago my wife finally consented to use a mixer instead of her trusty spoon. transitioning to a hand mixer. The recipe usually always works,if you don't challenge the weather gods. This year we went to Colorado to spend Christmas with the kids, and did not bring the old, yellowed, badly creased and stained recipe card from home. They demanded "Mom's Divinity", and so, well after dark on Christmas Eve, the search began for a divinity recipe. The recipe was found, the Kitchen-Aid was employed, and at 7000 feet (in SPITTING SNOW no less) the PERFECT divinity was made. CHRISTMAS WAS SAVED!!! Bless you all, everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Tried this recipe this morning, and used my stand alone mixer that I got for Christmas last yr. and it burned up the gears. It turned out great, but hope my kids will get me another mixer this yr..... I doubled the recipe, and think it would saved my mixer if I would of done a single recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! I worked beautifully for me in my stand mixer. I used a piping bag to make pretty rounds and put crushed pepper mints on top. They are a big hit with my children. Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have made divinity for several years. I have even made it while it was raining ( takes longer to cook the sugar and to whip the candy) just make sure you use a candy thermometer. you will get it right every time. and make sure that you pour the syrup a little at a time (put syrup back on heat to keep it the right temp.) and mix well in between to help you mix with a hand or stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I second what another reviewer said and felt justified after having read this: "This is a great 'softer' version. With Divinity, it all depends on what you expect the end result to be." I expected the results to be a little heavier, more like a white fudge. This batch never lost its gloss after 20 minutes! ... Reviewer comments that I'll incorporate next time are: increase hardball stage to 260 and return 1/2 syrup to re-heat. The divinity was definitely edible, but too soft and airy for my tastes. All that said, hubby loved it. Thanks to all the reviewers who provided such useful advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I just finished making this and taste wise it is awesome BUT can someone please give me some tips on how to drop this horrible sticky mess out on wax paper?? It's sooooo sticky and almost impossible to drop it out, unless I did something wrong. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Perfectly easy recipe to follow and tastes FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!! This was my first time making divinity and it turned out GREAT!!! I put some pecans in mine and it was very good with pecans. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
It turned out perfect. I had to mix it for about 5 minutes longer than the recipe says but once it was dull, it was perfect and looks awesome. I did use my kitchenaid which is a MUST. I used the whisk attachment and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I just made this recipe exactly the way it is and it turned out excellent. I can't believe I finally tried making this candy again and this time it worked. Previously tried another recipe for it on this website and it didn't turn out. This recipe was easy to make and is delicious! I have a Kitchen Aid mixer and used it for making this. Exellent, wouldn't change a thing. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States