Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Great recipe, but be sure to get a candy thermometer though. It will make easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This was excellent. I have never had any luck making divinity before but this was perfect. It is my mothers favorite and I was able to send her the batch for her birthday. She said it was "DEVINE".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This has always been my favorite homemade candy and I am so glad to be able to make it and for it to turn out great.Thanks,Mary H. from Louisiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Great recipe. I have tried for years to make divinity. This recipe turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Yummy..just remember not to use a shallow bowl when you start pouring the hot mixture over the egg whites...it went everywhere. But it was worth it, I think it would be great with pecans added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citronelle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Well, it took me three trys to get it to turn out, but finally I figured it out. The end result was wonderful!!! It is a bit difficult--you have to pay attention, it only took about 15 minutes for it to reach hard ball stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This was my first time making divinity I admit. I followed the directions perfectly but it failed. I think this recipe is not Specific enough. I found another recipe online that is very specific and I believe I will post it up here for you guys soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I first tried divinity a year ago when my grandma made it...I was 16. I started trying to make it several time with different recipes but never could. This was the first time with this recipe and as long as you pay attention it was real easy and really good!! If a 17 year old who catches a kitchen on fire evry time she cooks can do it, anyone can!! Its great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is very close to the recipe I have used for years. (Mine calls for 2 1/2 cups sugar) It really is wonderful. The most important thing to remember when making divinity (actually most candies) is NEVER attempt it during rainy weather or whenever the humidity is high. I live in Louisiana so that limits the days for candy making. If you try to make divinity during high humidity, you will end up with nothing but a white gooey glop of glue! Trust me it's worth waiting for more favorable conditions. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Man, oh, man - screwed this one up somehow! I had something I was able to use as a marshmallow creme topping for icecream, though, so all was not lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States