Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
The resulting candy tastes fabulously light, fluffy, and creamy; however, it is a labor-intensive candy. I must have whipped it for nearly 20 minutes before it was thick enough to stand alone. It's true what other reviewers said..."if you can't tell that it's lost its gloss, it hasn't." Thank God for my Puck! The mixture is very sticky and difficult to "drop" in a consistant measurement. I placed the finished divinity in foil cups and they looked beautiful. This recipe worked the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This divinity was incredibly easy to make. I added a pecan half to the top... heavenly..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIFFNER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Love Divinity-mother in law always said "you just can't make it at home!" Well, I tried this and it was so good, she ate most of it. Now she's asking for more so I didn't even have to say told ya so! Very easy to follow and simple to make. My family and friends thank you and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This is the same recipe I got from my Great Aunt. Other than peanut butter fudge, this was the first candy recipe I have ever made and it turned out perfect. I went out & bought a candy thermometer ($3.99 at Giant) to be on the safe side. I used a regular hand mixer, and after making this recipe, I put a Kitchenaide on my Christmas list!! It's very tough to pour the syrup slowly into the egg mixture while holding the heavy pan in one hand and the beater in the other. You definitely have to beat this for a while - I think it took me longer than 5 minutes too. My Great Aunt told me I could add a small box of sugar-free Jello to the syrup mixture to give it different flavors. Or just add food coloring to change the colors. Simply Divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This takes patience and a Kitchenaid. If you don't have both, than God bless you. My sister broke her hand held mixer making this once. You gotta beat it like you're mad at it! If you can't tell if it's lost it's gloss, it hasn't. It really will go from shiny to dull. I had to beat it much longer than 5 minutes. I topped mine with red and green sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have been trying for over twenty years to make divinity that tasted as good as my grandmother's. It always went from being too runny to too dry so fast that I couldn't spoon even a few good pieces out. Your recipe calls for less sugar, and I took the advice of another reviewer and made the pouring of the syrup take a LONG time (5 minutes or so). Ended up with the best divinity I have ever made. (I like to put food coloring and walnuts in it). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Mine didn't exactly turn out, but that wasn't any fault of the recipe....my ancient mixer gave up on me. I'll wait to try this again when I've finished moving and have access to my nice stand mixer. However, the directions in this recipe were crystal clear and correct, based on my memories of making divinity in my childhood! I will use this again when I have the right equipment on hand. Suggestion for anyone else who is left with glop that won't set....stick it in the oven on low heat (about 250) for 20-30 minutes. They bake up a lot like meringue, although gooier in the center. At least that way they're not a total waste...you can serve with fruit or other toppings as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Oh my goodness, is this recipe a challenge - especially for someone like me, who has to do all the stirring and beating by hand. What a workout! I admit it took a few times to get it right, but the reward was a delicious and perfectly textured delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
My mom used to make Divinity every Christmas. It was just like this except she put food coloring in the mix (red or green) to make it more festive than the simple white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Tasty, but goopy, and made me a little sickish... hmm.. should it be cooked? We tried cooking it (I forget how much/long) and it was somewhat better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States