Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great 'softer" version. With Divinity, it all depends on what you expect the end result to be. Do you like a moist, chewy candy? Or are you looking for a crisp, airy candy? Adding half the sugar mixture to egg whites, then returning the rest to the heat and increasing it's temperature before also adding that does help with the crispness. A big hint also is Don't underbeat divinity.. some may take 15 to 20 minutes or even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this for my niece, who is a new mom, and she thought it was "the bees knees', better than any candy store divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I think I found a fix for gooey divinity flops after 4 different attempts from various Divinity recipes, the first attempt I burned up my mixer! SO I got a Kitchen Aid. Needed one anyway. Anyway like others have said the key is pouring in the cooked syrup very slowly in a slim stream while beating with the eggs whites. Pouring too much at once will cook the eggs. Then keep beating the sucker (in my case it took 15 minutes) until it starts to lose its gloss. But if it is still gooey, here's how to save it: Reheat the mixture - microwave if you have a glass bowl or put metal pan in very hot water, so it gives your mixer a rest and makes the candy warmer and more pliable. Then start mixing again. If you still think it wont set up, add about 1/2 to 1 tsp of hot water to the mix then sprinkle in about 1/2 to 1 cup powdered sugar while mixing ON SLOW. It will start to set up much faster now. ALSO: Try this for a new flavor twist: When it's time to add the Vanilla, instead of 1 tsp, add the following: 5 - 7 drops Yellow Food Coloring 1/4 tsp. Peppermint Extract 1/4 tsp. Butter flavor Extract 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract (more or less peppermint or butter extract to taste) BUTTER MINT DIVINITY! You won't go back to plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kokoskorner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Good recipe for old fashion divinity---I have a couple of suggestions to make it fool proof. These always work for me. 1. Cook just as the recipe says until you reach 250 degrees, pour just HALF of the syrup SLOWLY over the egg whites beating continuely, return the other half of the syrup and continue to cook to hard crack stage, 285 to 290 degrees and pour the rest slowly over the egg white mixture. Beat until mixture starts to lose it's gloss, add flavoring, vanilla, almond, etc and 1 tbls. butter or margerine. drop or pour and cut in squares or roll like a log and slice or use log as middle of caramel nut roll. I've even added some chocolate chips after the syrup and made it chocolate flavored. Good with chopped marachino cherries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Tastes good - reminds me of marshmallow fluff. However, remember relatives making this when I was a child WITH A HAND MIXER and theirs always turned out -stiff and kept it's form. I mixed mine for about 30 minutes and it still would not keep its form. Either I didn't have enough patience or I'm not cut out for this particular item! 2nd try making it and I remember now why it's not an annual thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Mine turned out like something akin to a good quality adhesive caulk. Why? Second attempt was the same. I mixed it for nearly 15 minutes. Maybe I just don't have the knack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was very good and VERY easy!! I used 2 1/2 cups sugar, and it came out sweeter than I like, so next time I'll use the recommended 2 cups. I also used almond extract in place of vanilla, although vanilla would be great as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SStephan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I am sure the recipe was fine, but dont even attempt if you dont have something like a kitchen aide. I burned up a mixer and wasted two batches, and it still never made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canfern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I loved this recipe and it was easy to make. I used almond extract instead of vanilla for the second batch and it added so much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States