Divine Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
My family and I thought this was GREAT. of course I tweaked it to our liking!!!like I use twice the tomatoes and I used canned tomatoes. And instead of Italian seasoning, I broke it down and didnt use rosemary(dried rosemary has the texture of pine needles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. I did not have any problems with the thickness of the sauce as some have suggested. I thought it was great just the way it was as did my family. Also, I prepared the ingredients just as the recipe suggested and then I put it in the crock pot to cook all day instead of leaving it on the stove. It was just as good and I didn't have to worry about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRYTWIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
excellent texture and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Awesome sauce that is now a staple of my (limited) cooking. Easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
For the first time I've prepared from scratch spaghetti sauce, I could have done a *lot* worse. Though thick and chunky, this sauce was fantastic. I did feel it was necessary to add a 14 ounce can of tomato sauce--it truly was too thick for me without it. Served with whole wheat pasta for a healthy twist and added parmesan garlic bread from the allrecipes.com website. What a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
leave out red pepper flakes, celery, and beef broth. Add a teaspoon of brown sugar, two teaspoons of oragano, (fresh remember if dry cut in half)and enjoy it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARMED_TWICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This rating would actually be about 4 1/2 stars. Personally, I LOVED it, but my family only seemed to find it "pretty good." My mom wasn't too sure about the red pepper flakes. I'm going to make it again in the future and with adjustments to the amount of peppers and seasonings and see if I can get a more enthusiastic response.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
...not the greatest i've ever had, i may try it again but with several modifications! I'm guessing that all the people here who have RAVED over this "devine" sauce have never had homemade spagetti sauce before! Of course it's better than a jar, haha, but i've had better. It ended up rather thick and i added broth and red wine, which helped both texture and flavor, but it needs something else......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
The BEST spaghetti sauce I ever had! Very flavorful. The longer you cook it the better it gets. I added a little sugar, some tomato sauce, and a little extra Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is really yummy, but involves a lot of unnecessary work. I browned the hamburger in a huge pasta pot and then drained it, leaving a little fat in the pan and setting the meat aside. Then, I softened the celery and onion slowly (for 10 minutes). Then I added the rest of the ingredients. All in one pan! If you don't like CHUNKY sauce, use diced tomatoes, not whole. Also, I stir/mash with a potato ricer, not a spoon. Either way, if you simmer all day, it shouldn't be that chunky (tomato sauce tastes like ketchup, eww). Last, it DOES need sweetness -- I add a tsp. of sugar 15 minutes before serving -- you should taste and do it to your preference. These sound like big changes, but they're not -- and well worth it, if you're going to do this all day. Looking forward to posting my own private recipe soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States