Divine Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I made a healthier version of this recipe and it's the BEST spaghetti I've tasted in my whole life, even better than at restaurants! I was VERY surprised. This is a GREAT basic recipe to work with. I used Jennie-O lean ground turkey instead of beef and omitted the celery and red and green peppers. The original recipe includes some unnecessary steps though. I heated the turkey until it was cooked and then sauteed half a carton of mushrooms (self-sliced) with it. In saucepan, I combined tomato sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, basil, and bay leaf. This saves the onion and garlic work. I didn't add any salt. I love that this recipe doesn't need any oil. Also, I only added a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. Next time I will add some fresh tomato. Despite leaving out the celery and peppers and not using real onion or garlic clove, it was extremely flavorful. I can't believe a recipe turned out so good on my first try. My boyfriend can't wait to try it! Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Just like the spaghetti sauce my mom makes. The only changes I made were to use diced canned tomatoes instead of whole and I added olive oil to the sauce (quite a bit). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is rich and robust. I used 1.5 pounds of ground chicken instead of beef. I also used more tomato paste and then added half a cup of wine. Yum! As one reviewer pointed out, this can all be done in one pot. It also need not simmer all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was only so-so for us.It was definitely better the next day,so maybe letting it stand in the fridge the day before you serve it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Loved it! Rave reviews from all family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I use all fresh herbs instead of italian seasoning (so couple sprigs rosemary, handfuls of marjoram, oregano, basil) and sometimes add an italian sausage (we like spicy). Also add about 1/2 cup red wine if we have it. I find that if i simmer it longer than 3 hours the basil gets a little too overpowering (one of few herbs to increase flavor as it cooks) so i either cut down the cooking time or add part way through. This is a good base recipe- I just add in whatever I have that looks good so like all my other recipes i never quite make it the same twice- always tastes good on those cooler days though. (although i don't understand the multiple pans- i just cook it in one)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This is a great recipe, but I cut the Italian seasoning to 3 Tablespoons, 5 was WAY too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Thisd is a great start for a great sauce. However, I found it had way too much basil and Italian seasonings. I will make it again but will add the seasonings as I go and taste it before putting in more. We prefer a more liquid sauce so added somw V/8 as this sauce is quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
TOO MUCH RED PEPPER! Other than that with the revisions I made it was amazing. I only used 3/4 of an onion and 1 green pepper and 1 red pepper, I also added brown sugar and oregano. With the listed amount of red pepper it had too much kick for my taste but other than that it was the perfect consistency and the taste was amazing. I made for guests over manicotti and it was delicious and I received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I really loved this recipe. My son loved it and so did my hubby. It was terrific and really easy! My only changes (after reading other reviews) I didn't do all the steps. I just cooked the ground beef, onion, celery, etc. Just made it a one pot deal. I used really lean ground beef so there was no need to drain. I didn't have time to cook it for 6 hours, but it was fantastic just the way it was after 3 hours. Besides I don't like my ground beef cook to a mealy consistancy anyway. I didn't change the seasonings at all. I love bay and I love my sauce to taste like something other than tomato. I did add a tablespoon of sugar, because I like my sauce to have a 'balanced' flavor. I was surprised the recipe didn't call for salt or pepper. I didn't add it and it didn't need it. Happy cooking! Laura Behrendt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States