Divine Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
My family really enjoyed this recipe! I used red peppers instead of green and did not add mushrooms... it was so good that my husband had thirds! The meatloaf was definitely more flavorful than I expected -- a good quick recipe. I served it with the honey roasted red potatoes (recipe from this site) and both were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
We will definitely make this again. However, as much as my kids and myself enjoy ketchup, it was just too much. The kids scraped it off before eating. We don't do mushrooms, I added a little more bell pepper and used butter crackers instead of saltines (didn't have any). If you have picky kids, I'd suggest dicing the veggies until they are almost pureed. They hide better that way! I will probably try to "hide" more veggies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbmd513

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Fussy about my meatloaf and this recipe will please even the fussiest eater while packing in some vegetables...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This recipe is good enough, but for the Divine part, I use equal parts of sweet sausage in with the ground beef. Omit the soup mix as it contains so much sodium, and instead, I use seasoned salt, about 1 tsp. Saltine crackers also contain salt, and add the best flavor. NOW, to get divine, add 1/2 tsp of ground nutmeg to the ketchup and brown sugar mixture, and eliminate the mustard. This has been in my family for over 60 years, and is tried and truely Divine! It is amazing how good it is, the nutmeg really makes this recipe pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I've been around professional kitchens for a long time and I've seen a LOT of meatloaf recipes, from the inspired to the ridiculous, and to each of them I gave their proper respect, for after all, they also were someone's favorite, if not mine and someone had taken the time and effort to write it down and prepare. This one I'm gonna write down and prepare, with some cremini or porcini instead of button. Thank You for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZackDDog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
With saltines and soup mix this meatloaf to my family was very salty and not that great. They said they didn't like the flavor of it either. Won't be making it again. Sorry. Don't really see where the DIVINE title came from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyann39
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I am so glad to see a recipe for meat loaf that doesn't use oatmeal--this recipe is pretty much like the kind I make except she has taken it up a notch with the fresh vegetable ingredients which makes it very nice. From other meat loaf recipes I have seen on this site, I think this one is the best. No oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a great recipe, but instead of crackers use 2 slices whole wheat bread, and pour 1 can of sweetened condensed milk into mixture to add flavor, then 12 cup of chopped Celery, mushrooms, sweet onion, and green pepper to give it some crunch. Then it is heavenly!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridgetduffy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawthorne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This recipe is a great base for meatloaf and like others I have made some changes. I cook the meatloaf in the pan for 20 minutes then take it out of the oven drain off any excess fat that has accumulated during cooking. Then invert the meatloaf onto a foil covered cookie sheet or tray that has sides and remove the meatloaf pan. This way you can apply the ketchup mixture to all sides. Also, you have a more uniform meatloaf shape that has been able to cook in its own juices for part of the process... The "end" pieces are sought after if you are a ketchup fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I can only give this recipe a 3 star rating because it uses a soup mix. It is not that difficult to use fresh or dried herbs in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States