Divine Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was a really good recipe - the sauce was a nice combination of sweet/tangy, and my husband liked it. It was easy and didn't take too long, which was a huge plus. Baking it in a 9X13 pan really made it unsatisfyingly thin, so next time I will try a 9X9 or loaf pan. Also, I think I will use fewer green onions or chop them super fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My family loved this recipe! I didn't have any crackers, so I added Italian bread crumbs. I added the veggies it called for and about 1/4 c of julienned carrots I had from another recipe. I didn't have the beef soup packet, so I softened a beef bouillon cube in the microwave and mashed it together with about a 1/4 c of dried onion flakes, then added this to the meat mixture. I started cooking the meatloaf at 400 degrees WITHOUT the sauce (I like the outside a bit crunchy!) After 30 mins., I lowered the temp to 375 and added the sauce which I had preheated in the microwave so as not to lower the temp of the meat. My super picky 3 year old said it was, "kinda yummy." This is a GOOD THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I doubled this recipe to have leftovers the next day for the boys' lunches (meat loaf sandwiches). Instead of green bell pepper, I used red bell pepper and I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of saltines only because that was what I had on hand. This was okay--both my husband and I thought the beef with onion soup mix was a good addition but it didn't have much flavor aside from that. I will say it held up well for sandwiches the next day though I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight. It was not good. I don't know if it was the addition of the beef/onion soup mix or something else. I also used the 9x13 pan when it would have been much better in a meatloaf pan. I know it's not good when instead of the meatloaf being devoured it gets pushed around the plate and they are eating the mashed potatoes over the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
The amount of crackers called for give a mushy texture, the amount of ketchup called for was way over kill. And to pat it down in a 9x13 pan? Good grief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This meat load went over big with my husband. Great taste and even better for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This recipe is a hit! SO MUCH FLAVOR! The green peppers really give it a great taste. I blogged it on my food blog and my friends just LOVE it! I'm not one to change up a recipe unless after reading reviews that it wasn't working...On this recipe (NOT because it wasn't working) I did change the saltine crackers for Garlic & herb croutons. For one they don't get as soggy as saltines I like how they hold up in meatloaf and also I like adding that extra seasoning the croutons have. But this recipe could win awards...seriously, its that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Clifford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
LOVE this meatloaf recipe. I didn't have green onions so I substituted for a white onion and it turned out so good that I've never changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Except for the glaze, which didn’t appeal to me, I chose this recipe for the ingredients, which did. When I set out to make it, however, I saw it wasn’t going to work for me as written. It seemed to me the measurements were off - I almost wondered if there was a typo, and the recipe was meant to read TWO pounds of ground beef. I even measured out 8 ounces of crackers and there was no way I could use that much. I probably used half the amount called for (about 1/2 c.), one egg, (again, half the amount called for), and only half of the packet of soup mix. Those with more mouths to feed at their dinner table could simply use two pounds of meat and keep all remaining measurements of ingredients the same. I added some chopped celery and used sweet onion for the green onions called for. I gave it some Montreal Steak seasoning and Worcestershire for flavor and found I needed to add a little half and half to loosen the mixture a little. I added no mushrooms since I made a mushroom gravy rather than the glaze. When I chose this recipe I assumed the meatLOAF would be formed into a loaf, not pressed into a 9x13” pan, which also didn’t appeal to me. I did form it into a small loaf and baked it for an hour. We thought it was delicious, five stars for us actually, with the changes I made. Assuming we all put our own spin on our meatloaves, and accounting for individual preferences in terms of the amount of filler, etc., I’ll call this one four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Yum! I left out the mushrooms (don't like them). Very good, just like Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjstar03

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States