Divine Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight. It was not good. I don't know if it was the addition of the beef/onion soup mix or something else. I also used the 9x13 pan when it would have been much better in a meatloaf pan. I know it's not good when instead of the meatloaf being devoured it gets pushed around the plate and they are eating the mashed potatoes over the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
The amount of crackers called for give a mushy texture, the amount of ketchup called for was way over kill. And to pat it down in a 9x13 pan? Good grief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This meat load went over big with my husband. Great taste and even better for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This recipe is a hit! SO MUCH FLAVOR! The green peppers really give it a great taste. I blogged it on my food blog and my friends just LOVE it! I'm not one to change up a recipe unless after reading reviews that it wasn't working...On this recipe (NOT because it wasn't working) I did change the saltine crackers for Garlic & herb croutons. For one they don't get as soggy as saltines I like how they hold up in meatloaf and also I like adding that extra seasoning the croutons have. But this recipe could win awards...seriously, its that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimz Cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
LOVE this meatloaf recipe. I didn't have green onions so I substituted for a white onion and it turned out so good that I've never changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Except for the glaze, which didn’t appeal to me, I chose this recipe for the ingredients, which did. When I set out to make it, however, I saw it wasn’t going to work for me as written. It seemed to me the measurements were off - I almost wondered if there was a typo, and the recipe was meant to read TWO pounds of ground beef. I even measured out 8 ounces of crackers and there was no way I could use that much. I probably used half the amount called for (about 1/2 c.), one egg, (again, half the amount called for), and only half of the packet of soup mix. Those with more mouths to feed at their dinner table could simply use two pounds of meat and keep all remaining measurements of ingredients the same. I added some chopped celery and used sweet onion for the green onions called for. I gave it some Montreal Steak seasoning and Worcestershire for flavor and found I needed to add a little half and half to loosen the mixture a little. I added no mushrooms since I made a mushroom gravy rather than the glaze. When I chose this recipe I assumed the meatLOAF would be formed into a loaf, not pressed into a 9x13” pan, which also didn’t appeal to me. I did form it into a small loaf and baked it for an hour. We thought it was delicious, five stars for us actually, with the changes I made. Assuming we all put our own spin on our meatloaves, and accounting for individual preferences in terms of the amount of filler, etc., I’ll call this one four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Yum! I left out the mushrooms (don't like them). Very good, just like Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjstar03

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Recipe was okay, be careful in what the type of meat you select, mines came out oily and fell apart the seasoning was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I use this recipe as a base. I omit the onion soup (too much sodium) and use a sleeve of Ritz wheat crackers crushed instead of the saltines. I cut down on the amount of catsup, and increase the brown sugar a bit. Instead of a loaf pan, I use an 8x10 and make it thinner for even cooking. Something about that topping - tastes a little like bbq. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
By far the best meat loaf I've ever cooked and tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States