Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chefini
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Makes perfect hard boiled eggs. If you plan on using the eggs immediately after cooling you can tap them with a spoon to slightly crack the shells before placing them in the cold water. The shells will peel off like butter in about an hour letting you skip the refrigerator step. This recipe produces gorgeous firm eggs with brilliant yellow yolks and deviled eggs have never looked better! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
652 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is the method I use and it always works perfectly. Another hint...If you are making deviled eggs, or a dish where it is important the yolk be centered...try this trick...while the eggs are still in the carton, place a rubberband or two around the carton and place in refrigerator on its side. Leave on side overnight prior to cooking and you will have perfectly centered yolks every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
For the longest time I did not know how to boil eggs the correct way. As silly as this recipie may seem I think it is a must to have on this site for the new cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have been using this method for years and it works every time. I have one extra step, though, which eliminates the 2-hour refrigeration. When the eggs have steeped in the water for 15 minutes, I drain them and put the lid back on the pan and shake it vigorously until each of the eggs is cracked. Then I put ice cubes in the pan to cover the eggs and fill it with cold water. I let it sit for 15-20 minutes and the eggs are cold. Because the cold water is underneath the cracked shells, they almost fall off the egg when you begin to peel them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I've been boiling eggs this way all of my life. It always works for me. Just to reiterate what a couple of other people said, if you use older eggs, they will peel easier. Fresher eggs are always harder to peel. So, don't blame the recipe if your eggs don't peel well. Next time just use them closer to the expiration date and they'll peel easier. One tip that I've heard that might help, though, is adding a teaspoon of salt to the cooking water right after taking them off the heat. The salt doesn't actually make the egg inside salty, it just loosens the shell to make peeling easier. Give it a try and see if it works for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I could never figure out how to hardboil eggs without the green tinge until I met my father in law. This recipe is EXACTLY the same way he used to cook his. If you have family members who are hardcore about hardboiled eggs(or like deviled eggs as much as my husband), give this a go. You'll be pleasantly surprized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I did this over the 4th of July for deviled eggs and they came out perfect! A couple other tips: never boil more than 12 eggs at a time and let them get to room temperature before boiling - that reduces the chance of them opening while in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Followed the directions exactly and the eggs turned out PERFECT. As someone else suggested I cracked the shells with a spoon and soaked the eggs in a bowl of cold water to cool them rather than waiting for the refrigerator. They cooled as I prepared other parts of the meal and were ready to peel in about an hour. Made great deviled eggs and added to potato salad. This is a VERY SIMPLE yet VALUABLE recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Don't try the cracking with the spoon thing like someone suggested- those were the hardest eggs to peel EVER! Just let them chill according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These turned out perfectly as you can see in the photo. Look how pretty! I have always had trouble knowing for sure when they are done and either the yellow would turn gray or it would have an uncooked bit of yolk. I even used extra large eggs, and they still turned out perfectly! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States