Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I'm giving this four stars because the process makes you take more steps than you need to. Follow the instructions to the point of letting the eggs sit for 15 minutes. Take the pot and place it under cold, running water. (I do this until the pot itself is cool.) Leave cold water over the eggs. Check the water temperature every few minutes. When it starts getting warm, cool it off again. And, from my experience, the eggs are much easier to peel when you're done cooling them than they are after they've been in the refrigerator for two hours. In fact, when I take a hard-boiled egg out of the refrigerator, I put it in a glass with warm water in it for 2-3 minutes. I roll the shell on a hard surface so it breaks up a lot then start peeling at the bigger end. The key is to pick up that membrane at the top. The shell will almost roll off. Warming the shell of the egg makes that membrane much easier to get a hold of and peel off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have been doing this for years...works perfect every time! I don't wait to peel them, just crack them under cold water and peel away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Yes, it DOES work too!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I was always told that putting salt or vinegar in the water is so that if an egg cracks, it will keep the white from seeping out into the water. But I've recently read a tip that adding a little baking soda will make them easier to peel. I've tried it, and it works! I no longer bother with vinegar or salt. For all those who have trouble peeling the eggs.....I always put the cooked eggs IMMEDIATELY into a bowl of ice water, even if I'm not using them right away. The ice water shocks them and stops the cooking immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Great instructions. Works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
For those complaining of eggs not being done or being hard to peel, there are more factors involved. Extra Large eggs will take a little longer. Water boils at a lower temperature in higher elevations, so they may need more time in those circumstances. The freshest eggs are hardest to peel. Older eggs peel easier. For most people, this is the perfect time. I have done my eggs this way for years, and they are perfectly cooked every time. I also just plunge them in ice water. I don't bother to keep changing the water. It is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Everything is fine with this recipe except that you don't need to cool them in the fridge for 2 hours. If they are cool enough to handle you can peel them and use them right away. As soon as you place them in the cold water they stop cooking and the time in the fridge is wasted. I know this because I often have to use them right away as they are usually an afterthought. I use them to make egg salad for sandwiches, use them in potato salad, or even eat them for breakfast as soon as I can safely peel them. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
After the fifteen minute cooking time has passed, I take off the shells under running cold water. It seems to help remove the shells better. Then I refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food-Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have used this method to cook eggs for over 30 years, it is the best and fool-proof. I have always called them Hard-cooked Eggs, because there is no boiling involved. Also, living at a high altitude (5,000 feet) , I leave them in the hot water 30 minutes, and they have always been perfect. It took me a long time to figure out that older eggs work best as some other reviewers mentioned. Basic tips like this one are so appreciated. Thanks for posting. Bobbi Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Using older eggs makes the peeling easier. The egg material shrinks when eggs get a few days old so it creates a little bit of air within the shell. Makes all the difference in peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States